Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 37

OK....if I install firefox on my computer can I uninstall IE? I dont want to ... Stackers' Lounge forum

  1. #1
    ItsNowOrNever's Avatar
    ItsNowOrNever no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    30485184
    Posts
    2,994

    IE Vs Fire Fox

    Advertisement



    OK....if I install firefox on my computer can I uninstall IE? I dont want to have too much on the computer because I dont want it slowing down (hence the 2 500GB of external storage I have! LOL!)....SOOOO....does Fire Fox need IE to work? IF it does, what's the point of having firefox if it can't operate on its own?
    Color---it's nothing but a hue of the rainbow...why do people place such importance in it?

  2. #2
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    As I understand it Windows needs IE to function...sorry.

    You might want to try Google's Chrome (my personal favorite and my default browser)...

    http://www.google.com/chrome/index.h...tm_term=chrome
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  3. #3
    Specs's Avatar
    Specs no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    1,500
    I think you can take IE off, but you may need the IE plugin for Firefox as some sites won't render properly in Firefox.

    Another browser called Maxthon is based on the same architecture as IE but less bloaty, you may want to try that. Although I've tried most (including Chrome but AI Roboform doesn't work with Chrome yet) and I keep going back to Firefox!

  4. #4
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116
    On Win XP I've uninstalled IE and used Firefox. Only problem is that a few certain sites require IE to function. I just keep it around and use FF all the time. I guess that doesn't solve your problem of wanting to uninstall it to save room. You can try it by going to Control Panel, Add/Remove Programs and then in the (left) side panel Install/Uninstall Windows Components - I think that's how you do it - and see if you can get by without it. You can always reinstall it the same way in reverse.
    For every complex problem there is a solution, that is simple, neat, .....and wrong! (H. L. Mencken) jblackfish(at)pinstack(dot)com

  5. #5
    Specs's Avatar
    Specs no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    1,500
    Quote Originally Posted by jblackfish View Post
    On Win XP I've uninstalled IE and used Firefox. Only problem is that a few certain sites require IE to function.
    That's why I mentioned the IE plugin for Firefox, I've found it works on all the ones I've used!

  6. #6
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116
    Quote Originally Posted by Specs View Post
    That's why I mentioned the IE plugin for Firefox, I've found it works on all the ones I've used!
    Specs, Is that a Firefox add-on? If so, can you post it's name - I found a number of add-ons with IE in the name. If not, can you post how and where to get it?
    For every complex problem there is a solution, that is simple, neat, .....and wrong! (H. L. Mencken) jblackfish(at)pinstack(dot)com

  7. #7
    Specs's Avatar
    Specs no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    1,500
    Yup - it's called IE tab and you can switch rendering on the page or decide in advance which engine to use by adding the URL to a list of selected choices.
    Have a look here: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/1419

  8. #8
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116
    Thanks from an IE hater, Specs. Got it and will work it out when needed.
    For every complex problem there is a solution, that is simple, neat, .....and wrong! (H. L. Mencken) jblackfish(at)pinstack(dot)com

  9. #9
    Specs's Avatar
    Specs no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    1,500
    You're welcome - hope you find it useful!

  10. #10
    gkast1's Avatar
    gkast1 no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    PIN/ID
    244F596F
    Posts
    2,381
    I am VERY IE-unfriendly (to put it mildly) and have been using other browsers as far back as it goes (Firefox and Opera). I haven't bothered to uninstall it, though.

    There are products that will uninstall (against Windows' will!) chosen parts of the OS. Some of them can be found in http://www.litepc.com

  11. #11
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116
    I'm actually suspecting that the last upgrade (or so) that I did for Firefox MAY be causing me a little grief. My laptop, at times, is VERY sluggish and when I look at what's going on it's Firefox taking 80 to 100% of the cpu with no apparent reason. I may try to downgrade if possible to see if that helps. The release I'm on is 3.0.4.
    For every complex problem there is a solution, that is simple, neat, .....and wrong! (H. L. Mencken) jblackfish(at)pinstack(dot)com

  12. #12
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    I always thought that Firefox was a bit of a hog...thats one thing I have enjoyed about Chrome.
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  13. #13
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116
    Quote Originally Posted by GaryF View Post
    I always thought that Firefox was a bit of a hog...thats one thing I have enjoyed about Chrome.
    I've been using it for years, Gary, and you know how that is: You use something continually and just forget about it UNLESS you start to have problems. Then you look around to see what's going on - that's what I did.

    It's not always slow but when my p-c gets sluggish, Firefox seems to be doing all the work...and nothing at the same time. Odd.

    I have Chrome and use is sparingly. I may just move to it for a while and see if my problems stop.
    For every complex problem there is a solution, that is simple, neat, .....and wrong! (H. L. Mencken) jblackfish(at)pinstack(dot)com

  14. #14
    Yellowfin's Avatar
    Yellowfin no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    317F3C36
    Posts
    1,110
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~ I just use Opera myself.

  15. #15
    gkast1's Avatar
    gkast1 no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    PIN/ID
    244F596F
    Posts
    2,381
    Part of the sluggishness may be due to FF's checking for potential phishing websites. If you don't need or want it you can turn it off (one of the about:config settings... I forget which, I leave it ON myself)

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •