Results 1 to 8 of 8

I want to hook up a monitor I have to my lap top...it's all plugged ... Stackers' Lounge forum

  1. #1
    ItsNowOrNever's Avatar
    ItsNowOrNever no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    30485184
    Posts
    2,994

    Any Computer Smarties???

    Advertisement



    I want to hook up a monitor I have to my lap top...it's all plugged in and it wasn't recognizign the monitor. I had a friend of mine check it out and the only think he could do was add it as an additional screen, and drag and drop everything to the monitor...well, that's all fine, but there are some cases where ti just wont work...because I have to keep going back to the laptop monitor to drag things to the seperate monitor.

    Is there a setting that I can make the external monitor the default monitor?
    Color---it's nothing but a hue of the rainbow...why do people place such importance in it?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    240c3403
    Posts
    169

    Re: Any Computer Smarties???

    what OS are you running?

  3. #3
    rabbie303's Avatar
    rabbie303 no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    Just Ask
    Posts
    1,353

    Re: Any Computer Smarties???

    you should be able to hit the Funtion key FN and then like f4...but its different on some laptops...just look for the symbol that has a tv with | | on either side. you may have to hold down FN and press it a few times.
    ~Erich~
    ---60% of the time it works every time--




  4. #4
    ItsNowOrNever's Avatar
    ItsNowOrNever no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    30485184
    Posts
    2,994

    Re: Any Computer Smarties???

    thanks guys...i'll give it a try
    Color---it's nothing but a hue of the rainbow...why do people place such importance in it?

  5. #5
    ItsNowOrNever's Avatar
    ItsNowOrNever no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    30485184
    Posts
    2,994

    Re: Any Computer Smarties???

    broke...I don't know. I think I have windows XP
    Color---it's nothing but a hue of the rainbow...why do people place such importance in it?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    240c3403
    Posts
    169

    Re: Any Computer Smarties???

    well if you have windows xp

    then right click on your desktop and select properties.

    go into settings and click on monitor 2.

    if Extend my Windows desktop onto this monitor is not selected please select it.

    hope that helps

  7. #7
    rrrebo's Avatar
    rrrebo no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    240466CA
    Posts
    175

    Re: Any Computer Smarties???

    If the laptop is a Dell, it's FN-F8 to toggle between LCD, monitor, and both.

  8. #8
    kentrg's Avatar
    kentrg no está en línea BES Pro
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    246FBBBA
    Posts
    1,076

    Re: Any Computer Smarties???

    go to properties and settings tab. You should have two monitors there. select the one you want to as as primary screen and check both "use this device as Prim monitor" and "extend my windows desktop onto this monitor". Then unchek both for the laptop.

    You can also download most recent drivers for your video card and just select duplicate screen from the video card options.

    i personally have 3 monitors that act as one. very easy to manage things that way.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •