Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Alright, there's a ton of people here but a stunning lack of good discussion going ... Stackers' Lounge forum

gorcorps no está en línea Stack level 3

alternative energy: my attempt at sparking a good discussion

Advertisement

Alright, there's a ton of people here but a stunning lack of good discussion going on here in the cafe. This is an attempt at starting one.

First off, I just want to say I'm in my last year of college at an engineering focuses school who is a premier facility for alternative energy research (Colorado School of Mines). So I sort of know what I'm talking about.

I want to ask you guys how you feel about these solutions to our 'energy crisis'. Corn based ethanol, other biofuels, fuel cells, wind energy, nuclear power, etc...

I'll wait a bit to give my opinions, otherwise this first post would be a wall of text and nobody would post.

thbassman no está en línea Stack Professional
    PIN/ID
    ASKME4IT
    I think either the corn based ethanol or biofuels would be our best bet. My wife grew up in the vicinity of a nuclear reactor, just not what I want for my kids. From what I hear fuel cells, I am assuming solar power are a helpful source, but cannot produce enough to be a primary source. I have read several articles on solar powered cars, and either the right person has not figured it out or they don't produce enough power to say fuel a car for extended distances. So if it was raining you would have to stay home, etc. Just my 2 cts, trying to help the spark grow into a flame of conversation.
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

Quote Originally Posted by thbassman View Post