Results 1 to 7 of 7

I've posted in a couple other threads about this issue, and it seems that having ... Server Admins forum

  1. #1
    technerd's Avatar
    technerd no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    15

    VPN, BES, T-Mobile

    Advertisement



    I've posted in a couple other threads about this issue, and it seems that having a BES may have something to do with it...

    Here's the situation - I'd like to use a Blackberry as a modem, tethered to a PC, and then use VPN software (Cisco) to connect to our network.

    Problem is, VPN looks like it's connected, but I can't actually remote in to anywhere on our network.
    T-Mobile claims that it just isn't possible in our situation.

    What I've learned so far:
    T-Mobile has different access points, "internet3.voicestream.com" appears to be their VPN enabled link... Currently, I'm using their "wap.voicestream.com" - which works fine for regular internet surfing...

    BTW, let me just say that the "how to" on using a Blackberry as a Modem on this site was awesome. Well written and detailed. Thank you to all who made that possible...

    ---
    So. If anyone has any insight into how a person would go about getting VPN to work with a tethered modem, BES, and T-Mobile service, I'd love to know. I can't believe that users who have BIS can do it just fine, but that having the full BES and full data plans will not allow VPN... It seems very backwards...

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Amigotek's Avatar
    Amigotek no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    21D7B3C6
    Posts
    1,569

    Re: VPN, BES, T-Mobile

    What probably is happening is that your account isn't provisioned for VPN access. T-Mobile actually has multiple codes for their internet access. I know on a regular internet plan for a laptop, there is a VPN and a traditional version. With the standard plan you cannot use a VPN because the network isn't enabled to provide the secure connection the VPN needs. I don't know if there is an option with a BES plan to have the VPN enabled or not. I would also talk with your IT department and see if their is something they need to do on the BES to enable the VPN.

    Zo

  3. #3
    BBSlinger's Avatar
    BBSlinger no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    12

    Re: VPN, BES, T-Mobile

    My connection to VPN client has 3 options (Broadband, Broadband TCP and Broadband UDP). If I connect using Broadband TCP, everything works fine using the tethered modem for T-Mobile.

  4. #4
    l0singthewar's Avatar
    l0singthewar no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    24233b3f
    Posts
    7

    Re: VPN, BES, T-Mobile

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~tmobile has a specific BES add on feature that replaces the standard BIS for the blackberry. Its an extra $10 per month but should allow full access to all ports needed for VPN access.

  5. #5
    galvatron's Avatar
    galvatron no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    240582a8
    Posts
    167

    Re: VPN, BES, T-Mobile

    Iiiff all you car about is web browsing chexk out a program called shrkmodem granted it might see a little slow considdering blackberrys have only 4 data channels I use it all the time whaen I don't have acces to unsecured wifi. Also bb's hav builtin firewalls.~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  6. #6
    technerd's Avatar
    technerd no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    15

    Re: VPN, BES, T-Mobile

    Amigotek, I am IT
    I run the BES and support 25 users, amongst many other things... Set the whole thing up from scratch and support the users pretty much on my own. Nobody else in my dept. really wants to touch the things...

    From what I understand, T-Mobile tells me two different things.

    First (T-Mobile) rep tells me our accounts (all of them..) should be able to do VPN. The "modem specialist" tells me that due to the way BES operates, and due to the way RIM encrypts things, that I can't use VPN through a tethered modem.

    It appears that it has something to do with the fact that I cannot seem to use "internet3.voicestream.com" - I can ONLY use "wap.voicestream.com" (note - these are MODEM settings on the PC itself...). I've tried using "internet3..." but it won't authenticate when dialing in......

    BTW - the "how to: blackberry as modem for laptop" writeup on this site was AWESOME. Thank you to all who made that possible

    "tmobile has a specific BES add on feature that replaces the standard BIS for the blackberry."

    Ok, so we've got a BES. We had to have T-Mobile set up our service to use that. From what I understand BIS is a very different thing, and requires different service setup

    Galvatron - I can surf fine. The "how to" on this site was excellent. Surfing, and even streaming audio works very well... Thanks though.

    BBSlinger - what client are you using??? We have Cisco VPN here...

    It's just weird that it SEEMS to connect, but it doesn't actually let me connect to our internal network...

    What seems to be happening is that their "wap.voicestream.com" network isn't configured to really allow VPN.
    Might there be some way to VPN to the BES itself, and then connect to the internal network???
    Maybe something to do with "MDS" (which I know very little about...)???????

  7. #7
    Amigotek's Avatar
    Amigotek no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    21D7B3C6
    Posts
    1,569

    Re: VPN, BES, T-Mobile

    My experience with BES is very very limited (to training only) so I can't think of anything further. If I get a chance I will try to contact my BB reps and see if they may have an answer for you.

    Zo

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •