Results 1 to 6 of 6

I just had a quick question about upgrading to 4.1.6 Right now we are running ... Server Admins forum

  1. #1
    ja3hawk's Avatar
    ja3hawk no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    3

    Upgrade Path question from 4.0.6 to 4.1.6

    Advertisement



    I just had a quick question about upgrading to 4.1.6

    Right now we are running 4.0.6 bundle 19

    Do I just install 4.1.6 or do I need to install 4.1.0 and the install 4.1.6? I pay for support and have access to all the software...? I am assuming I need to install 4.1.0 first? Is this accurate. I did some searches but just wanted to double check.

    (other info about our environment, Exchange 2003 Standard sp2, sql 2000 sp4)


    Any gotchas about this plan. I'm hoping its just as easy as running the installer under besadmin and the bouncing the server...

    TIA!

  2. #2
    ja3hawk's Avatar
    ja3hawk no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    3
    Surely someone can give me some advice... Thanks

  3. #3
    BBJedi's Avatar
    BBJedi no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    23
    4.1.6 may spit the dummy trying to go from 4.0.x (my recent experience)
    Backup the BES Registry and save somewhere other than BES.
    Copy the logs out of the logs dir to elsewhere and then remove the logs dir.
    Single BES environment: Use 4.1 first then go to 4.1.6 making sure you do a SQL backup before each upgrade run.
    We went 4.0.5 > 4.1 > 4.1.6 and was ok.
    How many BES do you run back to the BESMGMT?
    Multi BES: Each BES to 4.1 first then again all to 4.1.6 (just another experience).

  4. #4
    ja3hawk's Avatar
    ja3hawk no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    3
    Thanks for the response. We are in a single BES server environment with 50 users. I will take snapshots of our servers with VMware and then move forward with 4.1 then 4.1.6

    In what circumstances would I want to add another BES server? I was thinking maybe once you get a certain number of users or if you want fail over...?


    Once again thanks. Anyone else is encouraged to put in their two cents...

  5. #5
    knottyrope's Avatar
    knottyrope no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    124
    add second at about 500 users if the hardware can not handle it.

    With a snapshot you can be up fast.
    Just dont run both or your SRP will be banned.
    Obi-Wan Kenobi says "Use the search Luke", and Yoda says "RTFM, you should"
    Torch 9800 on BES 4.1.7 MR3, SQL 2005, Exch 03 with 250 hopeless users

    http://twitter.com/#!/knottyrope

  6. #6
    BBJedi's Avatar
    BBJedi no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    23
    Yep, what knottyrope said....

    In our environment this is exactly the reason we add BES. (we currently have over 6000 BB users...and growing rapidly). Also due to our size we have 3 seperate BESMGMT DB's globally as SQL doesn't play nicely with WAN latency.
    Our user capacity limit is similar (700) and then we throw another BES into the environment.
    Or you can do it to run MDS on a seperate box/image.
    And double yep on the SRP. Very important you never reuse an SRP anywhere (even in a sandpit environment).
    Enjoy the upgrade!

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •