Results 1 to 6 of 6

Hi all, I have an 8820 that's connected to my company's BES. I also have ... Server Admins forum

  1. #1
    rws381's Avatar
    rws381 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    76

    Question Two Devices on BES

    Advertisement



    Hi all, I have an 8820 that's connected to my company's BES. I also have a Curve that's not in use but lately I have been wanting to use it. Can I switch between devices and run the Enterprise Activation whenever I feel like switching between 8820 and 8310?

  2. #2
    KalebsDad78's Avatar
    KalebsDad78 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    PIN/ID
    Just Ask
    Posts
    2,044
    Yes, there should be no problem with that if you are the BES manager or have a very understanding BES manager who feels like taking the time to complete this switch each time you feel like switching devices.
    New User? - Read the NEW USERS GUIDE

  3. #3
    rws381's Avatar
    rws381 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    76
    Quote Originally Posted by KalebsDad78 View Post
    Yes, there should be no problem with that if you are the BES manager or have a very understanding BES manager who feels like taking the time to complete this switch each time you feel like switching devices.
    Well I'm not the manager. Are there things that need to be changed by the manager? I was hoping that I could just type me email and password in on the activation...

  4. #4
    Ridicule's Avatar
    Ridicule no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    307
    The BES admin will need to give you an Enterprise Activation password (or, if you have DM integrated well, when you plug the curve in, it'll ask you if you want to switch to this device.

    But, first things first - many companies have policies about using personal hardware at work - make sure what your company's policies are before you do this (not worth losing your job over).

    Use the switch device wizard in DM to transfer all of your data over, then move your sim and media card from the 8820 to the curve. then plug the curve into your pc and when DM asks you if you want to switch to this device, say yes - this will kick off the Enterprise Activation.

  5. #5
    rws381's Avatar
    rws381 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    76
    Quote Originally Posted by Ridicule View Post
    The BES admin will need to give you an Enterprise Activation password (or, if you have DM integrated well, when you plug the curve in, it'll ask you if you want to switch to this device.

    But, first things first - many companies have policies about using personal hardware at work - make sure what your company's policies are before you do this (not worth losing your job over).

    Use the switch device wizard in DM to transfer all of your data over, then move your sim and media card from the 8820 to the curve. then plug the curve into your pc and when DM asks you if you want to switch to this device, say yes - this will kick off the Enterprise Activation.
    Thanks Ridicule. I don't think using personal devices are a problem, the 8820 is mine. Maybe I'll call and see what's up before I go messing around with aynthing.

  6. #6
    Ridicule's Avatar
    Ridicule no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    307
    Aye, always best to be safe (you can confirm with the BES admin if the setup at work is as simple as using DM to swap devices, then the EA will kick off automatically).

    Cheers!

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •