Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20

BB pearl... I right clicked on the user and I did erase data and disable ... Server Admins forum

  1. #1
    BBP's Avatar
    BBP
    BBP no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    289

    Removing IT policy from BES?

    Advertisement



    BB pearl... I right clicked on the user and I did erase data and disable handheld all worked and handheld got formatted OTA then I still see the IT policy in the handheld under security is that normal?
    Last edited by BBP; 04-06-2008 at 05:21 PM.

  2. #2
    chatster18's Avatar
    chatster18 no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    ASK
    Posts
    1,121
    According to the BES if you were to reactivate that user on the BES the same IT policy would be applied. I think that is normal, even though you wiped the device.

    That would be my thought...
    Last edited by chatster18; 04-07-2008 at 01:28 AM. Reason: correct
    it's always greener with the other carrier...

  3. #3
    hayden's Avatar
    hayden no está en línea Stack Mod
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    12,440
    I think so also

  4. #4
    BBP's Avatar
    BBP
    BBP no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    289
    This handheld i took off wont be used on BES again i thought once i took it off it goes back to factory default settings where no IT policy will show in it

  5. #5
    chatster18's Avatar
    chatster18 no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    ASK
    Posts
    1,121
    Ok so I looked it up, it was designed that way for security (See KB04750). Now since you dont want to use it on a BES and you want the IT policy to be removed you can wipe the device with "Remote Wipe Reset to Factory Defaults" to do this see KB14202. But you need to be running BES v4.1.4 or higher. Or you can assign a blank IT Policy to overwrite all restrictions (so re-add to the BES, assign a blank IT policy, then remove from BES) see KB05106.

    Make sure you read how to do all this....

    For Knowledge base go to:
    www.blackberry.com/btsc

    See KB04750 for reasons why its still intact.
    See KB14202 for using the BES to remove the policy.
    See KB05106 for creating a blank IT policy.
    Hope this helps!


    Last but not least the non convential way can be found here: http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com...licy_help.html
    it's always greener with the other carrier...

  6. #6
    BBP's Avatar
    BBP
    BBP no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    289
    Thank You!!!

  7. #7
    lucky13mt's Avatar
    lucky13mt no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    N/A
    Posts
    2,818
    i have an IT policy...well it doesnt show up anywhere but when i try to use mobipocket reader or voice recorder by shape it says "application tried to access location inside and outside firewall not allowed by IT policy"...

    can i change or remove that?
    BlackBerry Rocks!<-Check it out!

  8. #8
    chatster18's Avatar
    chatster18 no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    ASK
    Posts
    1,121
    Are you currently on a BES?

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  9. #9
    lucky13mt's Avatar
    lucky13mt no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    N/A
    Posts
    2,818
    no...which is why im confused as to why i even have it policy...the phone is brand new...or was until i owned it lol
    BlackBerry Rocks!<-Check it out!

  10. #10
    chatster18's Avatar
    chatster18 no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    ASK
    Posts
    1,121
    That's odd, where did you buy it?

    You could try a device wipe and see if that takes care of it. If not look at my earlier post on nonconventional way to remove it policies

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  11. #11
    lucky13mt's Avatar
    lucky13mt no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    N/A
    Posts
    2,818
    a tmobile store...these phones were going to be for people at my town's city hall (my mom works there) but she was able to get me one for a very cheap price brand new.

    they werent BES enabled i dont believe...and the employees had to go to the tmobile store themselves and purchase one...there is no sign of BES or IT policy on my bb and no "IT Policy" in my security options.

    would you be able to give me the link for the unconventional way of removing it?
    BlackBerry Rocks!<-Check it out!

  12. #12
    chatster18's Avatar
    chatster18 no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    ASK
    Posts
    1,121
    Yes here it is

    http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com...licy_help.html


    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  13. #13
    lucky13mt's Avatar
    lucky13mt no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    N/A
    Posts
    2,818
    thanks i'll look into it. if you think of anything else that would be great.
    BlackBerry Rocks!<-Check it out!

  14. #14
    chatster18's Avatar
    chatster18 no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    ASK
    Posts
    1,121
    BBP, you are most welcome!

    lucky13mt, ill se what I can come up with


    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  15. #15
    BBP's Avatar
    BBP
    BBP no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    289
    I created a new policy called it wipe, remote wipe set to factory i set it to true in BES for that policy, re-add handeld to bes...all went fine, right clicked on the user earaced data and disable handset then it waped OTA BB rebooted then it still have wipe policy in the BB under security options also i did a wipe from the BB same issue policy still in it



    Quote Originally Posted by chatster18 View Post
    Ok so I looked it up, it was designed that way for security (See KB04750). Now since you dont want to use it on a BES and you want the IT policy to be removed you can wipe the device with "Remote Wipe Reset to Factory Defaults" to do this see KB14202. But you need to be running BES v4.1.4 or higher. Or you can assign a blank IT Policy to overwrite all restrictions (so re-add to the BES, assign a blank IT policy, then remove from BES) see KB05106.

    Make sure you read how to do all this....

    For Knowledge base go to:
    www.blackberry.com/btsc

    See KB04750 for reasons why its still intact.
    See KB14202 for using the BES to remove the policy.
    See KB05106 for creating a blank IT policy.
    Hope this helps!


    Last but not least the non convential way can be found here: http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com...licy_help.html

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •