Results 1 to 9 of 9

I currently have a 7290 that I use for work. I'd love to upgrade to ... Server Admins forum

  1. #1
    vsgotto's Avatar
    vsgotto no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    4

    Question New BB for company use...

    Advertisement



    I currently have a 7290 that I use for work. I'd love to upgrade to a 8700, even if it means I have to shell out a couple hundred bucks for it.

    But my company restricts access to a few websites (e.g. Gmail, Hotmail, etc.) So I'm curious to know.....

    1) Can I upgrade to an 8700 easily and have it work correctly with Outlook?

    2) Will the new 8700 be restricted to the website mentioned above?

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Rcbjr's Avatar
    Rcbjr no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    PM - Ask
    Posts
    14,848
    vsgotto, Welcome to PinStack.

    Simple answers, Yes and Yes. You can update easily and it will work just like your 7290 does on your company BES, IT policy and all.

    Let us know if there is anything else we can do to help with your BB.

    Rcbjr
    You Ask, We Will Answer
    Can’t Install theme via DM?No Additional Apps Found for Your Device
    Links to Usefull KB Articles

  3. #3
    cp6169's Avatar
    cp6169 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    PIN/ID
    3056468b
    Posts
    14,661

  4. #4
    vsgotto's Avatar
    vsgotto no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    4
    Thanks guys. Yes, the screen quality alone is reason enough to switch. I found a really great deal from Wirefly.com for the 8700g. FREE with a $100 rebate! My wife's contract is up and I have a spare Motorola v600 that she can use. Now the only thing left to do is unlock it. Hmmm.....

  5. #5
    keysmike's Avatar
    keysmike no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    3

    Re: New BB for company use...

    On the same thread, I'd like to upgrade my company 7290 BB to a BB Pearl, but not involve my company IT (they won't support PEARL). Can I simply put my work SIM into the BB PEARL and configure it to receive corporate email and calendar on my own?

    Thanks!
    Mike

  6. #6
    Rcbjr's Avatar
    Rcbjr no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    PM - Ask
    Posts
    14,848

    Re: New BB for company use...

    keysmike, Welcome to PinStack.

    I'm not sure if you can do it yourself. I'm pretty sure you will have to contact them because you will need to do an Enterprise Activation in order for it to be recognized by the BES.

    Let us know if there is anything else we can do to help with this problem or your BB.

    Rcbjr
    You Ask, We Will Answer
    Can’t Install theme via DM?No Additional Apps Found for Your Device
    Links to Usefull KB Articles

  7. #7
    ljbyar's Avatar
    ljbyar no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me
    Posts
    7,818

    Re: New BB for company use...

    KeysMike, Rcbjr is correct and I will be in the same boat as you soon. I will upgrading to the 8800 as soon as it released and will need them to set me up on the BES. It should not be a big deal. However, part of the reason I held off on getting a Pearl was that I didn't want to have them get itchy about me constantly changing units.

    Thankfully, my company (my new one) lets us use personal blackberrys on their BES and does not restrict access to any sites or email (which is nice because my desktop does).

  8. #8
    keysmike's Avatar
    keysmike no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    3

    Re: New BB for company use...

    Would the 'Redirector' application that came with my BB desktop manager software work if I am using Outlook at work to get forwarded emails? Or is this not possible or adviseable.

    Thanks again for your response.

  9. #9
    vsgotto's Avatar
    vsgotto no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    4

    Re: New BB for company use...

    Quote Originally Posted by keysmike
    Would the 'Redirector' application that came with my BB desktop manager software work
    You got it keysmike! I plugged in the 8700 while Redirector was running and it noticed that the pin (of the new 8700) didn't match (the pin that was saved from my 7290). So it asked me if I wanted to use the new pin and I clicked Yes.

    Bam! I was receiving email 2 mins later!! Nice!!

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •