Can anyone confirm or deny whether a company can monitor one's blackberry web usage and/or ... Server Admins forum

liquidsense no está en línea Stack level 2

monitoring bb usage

Advertisement

Can anyone confirm or deny whether a company can monitor one's blackberry web usage and/or usage of programs like JiveTalk or the like? To what extent? Can it read what you are typing?

To be more specific, if the individual with the blackberry has an Enterprise data plan and is hooked up to the company's server (sorry if my terminology is completely incorrect - I'm new to this).

pck20 no está en línea Stack level 2
    PIN/ID
    215C77CB

Re: monitoring bb usage

It's my understanding that web usage is not monitored by BES, but it could and more than likely is, by your service provider. Keystrokes are also not per se, except in the form of emails. Correct me if I'm wrong anyone.
    Respect Mah Authoritah!

cherrichiodo no está en línea PINStacked!
    PIN/ID
    ATA

yikes! i don't *think* they can read stuff like jivetalk and webmail ... but i could certainly be wrong.

pck20 no está en línea Stack level 2
    PIN/ID
    215C77CB

Although I think this is a bit scary for us corperate users:
    http://www.pcworld.com/businesscente...nications.html
    Respect Mah Authoritah!

oconnke1 no está en línea Stack level 2

The short answer is, "Yes, they can see it." The previous link to the PC World article explains most of it. Your Internet traffic goes through "proxy servers," which capture what sites you access. Then there is "click stream" analysis. This is how Google can change the advertisements dynamically, based on what you type. Whether or not your company is doing it is a different question. ;-)

Toddboy71 no está en línea Device Pro
    PIN/ID
    T o' Bee

~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~