Results 1 to 9 of 9

All, I am trying to configure the BES MDS so that it's browser runs through ... Server Admins forum

  1. #1
    GazN's Avatar
    GazN no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    68

    Internet browsing through Web Sense

    Advertisement



    All,

    I am trying to configure the BES MDS so that it's browser runs through our proxy server / websense.

    I have so far configured the dev server to prompt for proxy authentication, but I can still browse to what would normally be restricted web sites if using a machine on the corporate domain .....

    I have set the proxy address and configured http authentication to true .... am I missing something??

  2. #2
    jrockett's Avatar
    jrockett no está en línea BES Pro
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    962
    Can you add the BES to a non-filtered policy group?
    Data Outages
    Reinstall OS
    Desktop/Device Page

    Yes, I'm a BES admin with an iPhone 3G.

    Follow me on Twitter!


  3. #3
    GazN's Avatar
    GazN no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    68
    I would need to read up on how to do that, still learning the ropes I'm afraid!
    But if you think it would provide the ability to do so...

  4. #4
    STL8700's Avatar
    STL8700 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    92
    Your phone is set to "blackberry browser" when testing the MDS connection correct?

  5. #5
    jrockett's Avatar
    jrockett no está en línea BES Pro
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    962
    I have limited experience with WebSense, but when we tested it way back in the day I believe we had to do something like that. I'll try to find my notes and get back with you if I find them.

    Edit: Or as STL8700 recommended check to to see which browser you are using.
    Last edited by jrockett; 04-18-2008 at 05:04 PM.
    Data Outages
    Reinstall OS
    Desktop/Device Page

    Yes, I'm a BES admin with an iPhone 3G.

    Follow me on Twitter!


  6. #6
    STL8700's Avatar
    STL8700 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    92
    In our case: once websense was installed and operational on the domain, Blackberry users were unable to browse past the Websense page when using the MDS browser. Not being a smart ***, just saying it should re-route the exact same way as any other pc inside the domain.
    Make sure If your phones aren't restricted in the IT policy to block the carriers browser, other wise its just like any other cell phone.

  7. #7
    GazN's Avatar
    GazN no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    68
    Appreciate the help.... yeah if I use the BB Browser I get unrestricted access on the Web.... I have tried pointing the MDS at our proxy server, but that doesn't makie much difference (our Network guys are doubtful if you can use websense with BB ??)

  8. #8
    eD_'s Avatar
    eD_
    eD_ no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    3
    If websense is using integrated authentication (AD, Windows NT, LDAP, etc.) then you'll have problems. BlackBerries don't pass that authentication on. You may be able to move the websense server into a unfiltered policy. We are Cisco integrated so we told our Cisco equipment to not filter our BES server.

    This obviously opens up some security issues, so take that into consideration when deciding.

  9. #9
    GazN's Avatar
    GazN no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    68
    Many thanks ... dont think our Network Admins wil go for that then!
    Appreciate the informative response.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •