Results 1 to 6 of 6

has anyone ever been able to install an Exchange server in Windows XP to run ... Server Admins forum

  1. #1
    nxv65's Avatar
    nxv65 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    PIN/ID
    4013e488
    Posts
    111

    Question Installing Exchange over XP

    Advertisement



    has anyone ever been able to install an Exchange server in Windows XP
    to run a BES

    thanks

  2. #2
    data1025's Avatar
    data1025 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    338

    Re: Installing Exchange over XP

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~ exchange requires a server operating system, like server 2000/2003. It won't work with a workstation os.

  3. #3
    Crewdawg257's Avatar
    Crewdawg257 no está en línea BES Pro
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    248

    Re: Installing Exchange over XP

    Even if it installed, WinXP is limited to 10 active connections at a time. Even without a lot of traffic BES and Exchabge would consume that. It would require modifying the TCP/IP stack among other things.

    In short, it won,t work.

    The other option is to use Virtual Server from Microsoft (free) and install 2000/2003 on top of XP. Though you would need a license for the OS and Exchange.

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  4. #4
    pr23788's Avatar
    pr23788 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    PIN/ID
    4019687A
    Posts
    35

    Re: Installing Exchange over XP

    I think the idea of the virtual PC is a good one, havent tried with Bes 4. but the previous version wont allow you to install it on the same box as exchange, plus add that you need to have msde or some type of SQL database which is usually installed on the same box, but on the other hand any regular pc can serve as a bes box.

  5. #5
    oldbb7750's Avatar
    oldbb7750 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    3003BF2B
    Posts
    4

    Re: Installing Exchange over XP

    how about using a win 2000 server

  6. #6
    DerekN's Avatar
    DerekN no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    1

    Lightbulb Re: Installing Exchange over XP

    For what it's worth, once you get your Exchange server running, you can put the BES on an XP box. See blackberryexpress dot com.

    Quote Originally Posted by nxv65
    has anyone ever been able to install an Exchange server in Windows XP
    to run a BES

    thanks

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •