I'm new to blackberry devices, the bold finally persuades me to try out a blackberry ... Server Admins forum

jusMikeP no está en línea Stack level 3

How does BES work?

Advertisement

I'm new to blackberry devices, the bold finally persuades me to try out a blackberry device. I was disappointed to find out that I can't access my email imap folders from my device, a feature that I've always taken for granted I suppose on all my other devices. So I thought that before giving up and going back to my iPhone I'd maybe look into a hosted BES account. Since I have to pay for MobileMe it seems reasonable to have to pay for BES to get similair functionality. But I just don't understand how BES works. I've read verious articles about it, but I just don't get it. I don't have a company email server. My company website is hosted with 1and1. So my email address is mike@mycompany.com. I'd like to simply be able to access all of email folders on my blackberry. The OTA syncing of contacts and calendars would be nice but not a must have for me, syncing via bluetooth when I come in and out of the office is fine with me. So how would contacts, calendars, etc be synced if I signed up for a hosted BES account? Is it the same as exchange but simply an interface to the Blackberry? I'm not sure I even know what to ask, I just don't understand what the difference is between BES and exchange and how I could access my emails, etc with hosted BES. Can anyone clarify this for me? The bold seems awesome, I really like it and hate to take it back simply because I don't understand how to use all of the awesome features. Thanks.

ice44 no está en línea Stack level 5
    In order to be on a BES your company needs to have a BES server setup to redirect a copy of your mail, Calendar and contacts....