Results 1 to 9 of 9

is it possable to setup and host a BES on my server on my lan ... Server Admins forum

  1. #1
    oldbb7750's Avatar
    oldbb7750 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    3003BF2B
    Posts
    4

    Question hosting a BES on my home server

    Advertisement



    is it possable to setup and host a BES on my server on my lan at home
    i can get my hands on windows 2000 and or 2003 server and BES 4.0 ,BlackBerry MDS ,Exchange 2003

  2. #2
    Lewis's Avatar
    Lewis no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    207BBC6D
    Posts
    1,285

    Re: hosting a BES on my home server

    The answer to your question is:

    YES!!

    BlackBerry Enterprise Server EXPRESS is FREE!

    Ok, so, you'll need all that other stuff first though...(Windows, a mail server, etc.).

    I've downloaded it, but I've not had the time to get it running. And I don't really need it as I have BES already through work.

  3. #3
    nvisi0n's Avatar
    nvisi0n no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    PIN/ID
    30B4DB5C
    Posts
    410

    Re: hosting a BES on my home server

    www.blackberry.com/go/express

    forgot the go directory

  4. #4
    jason1114's Avatar
    jason1114 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    83

    Re: hosting a BES on my home server

    If anyone need BES working with Domino let me me know i can help out

  5. #5
    cp6169's Avatar
    cp6169 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    PIN/ID
    3056468b
    Posts
    14,661

    Re: hosting a BES on my home server

    Thanks for offering Jason. We can always use experienced BES users.

  6. #6
    lieb39's Avatar
    lieb39 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    PIN/ID
    24364110
    Posts
    76

    Re: hosting a BES on my home server

    Can anyone help me with the basic network configuration of the BES server?

    I thought that the BES server needed port 3101 (TCP) forwarded to it, but than someone said that it only needs outbound and not inbound.

    Another thing - what is the 'status' suppose to be when a user is not assigned to a blackberry, just an (exchange) account? Because mine just says initializing... Is this an issue? (In the BES Manager)

    Thanks

    -lieb39
    Anyone who is familiar and willing to discuss/help me with BES, add me to your BB Messenger! Cheers :)

  7. #7
    dkozinn's Avatar
    dkozinn no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    23f260fb
    Posts
    107

    Re: hosting a BES on my home server

    Quote Originally Posted by lieb39
    Can anyone help me with the basic network configuration of the BES server?

    I thought that the BES server needed port 3101 (TCP) forwarded to it, but than someone said that it only needs outbound and not inbound.
    All you need to do is to allow port 3101 to be connected to the RIM SRP outbound from your network. Traffic will travel over that connection in both directions, but (unless you're using a very unusual firewall/router), you shouldn't need to explicitly forward 3101 inbound to your BES. (Super-brief firewall tutorial: If you allow the connection outbound, the firewall is usually smart enough to realize that there's going to be data coming back and automatically allows it.) What happens is that the BES will open up a connection on 3101 and that connection stays up, so you don't have to worry about a connection originating from outside of your network.

    Another thing - what is the 'status' suppose to be when a user is not assigned to a blackberry, just an (exchange) account? Because mine just says initializing... Is this an issue? (In the BES Manager)

    Thanks

    -lieb39
    I think it will say initializing until the user is assigned to a BB (which may be never).

    David

  8. #8
    Jonnn21's Avatar
    Jonnn21 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    37

    Re: hosting a BES on my home server

    can you access internet through that then???

  9. #9
    kentrg's Avatar
    kentrg no está en línea BES Pro
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    246FBBBA
    Posts
    1,076

    Re: hosting a BES on my home server

    here is a great simple walk through video tutorial. It should get you up and running with basic settings

    Video Tut

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •