Results 1 to 8 of 8

I recently upgraded the OS of my 8310 to 4.5.0.55 (platform 2.7.0.68) First couple of ... Server Admins forum

  1. #1
    sudo's Avatar
    sudo no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    10

    Help needed: BBIM keeps on giving "new device" message

    Advertisement



    I recently upgraded the OS of my 8310 to 4.5.0.55 (platform 2.7.0.68)

    First couple of days BBIM worked fine. It did not give any strange message.

    Now it has started to act weird.

    It gave me a message which said something like "you have new device, either send information about your new device to your contacts and request them to add you OR your contact list will be erased"

    I selected Yes, thinking it might be a one time problem. Three out of four contacts on my BBIM were re-added successfully but the forth one could not. I was sitting with that friend of mine and was surprised to see that there was no add request in his BB. I tried resending the request but still it did not appear on his BB.

    I rebooted my BB in order to solve the problem with the forth contact.

    Rebooting again made the "new device" message appear on my BBIM bringing me back to where it all started.

    One of the contacts on my BBIM is a senior executive and I am feeling embarrassed because of repeated add requests from my side. Some expert please help me....

  2. #2
    reddog187's Avatar
    reddog187 no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    STACK
    Posts
    8,907
    I've encountered this issue with the new OS. It's been discussed here

    http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com...ad.php?t=78065

    Basically all you do is turn off Content Protection

    Hope this helps

  3. #3
    luciferseamus's Avatar
    luciferseamus no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    1,930
    Quote Originally Posted by reddog187 View Post
    I've encountered this issue with the new OS. It's been discussed here

    http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com...ad.php?t=78065

    Basically all you do is turn off Content Protection

    Hope this helps

    Great info!
    good link to keep in mind.
    "If you ever lose your keys in a river of molten lava, let 'em go, cus' man, they're gone!!"-Jack Handey


  4. #4
    sudo's Avatar
    sudo no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by reddog187 View Post
    I've encountered this issue with the new OS. It's been discussed here

    ______________________________________

    Basically all you do is turn off Content Protection

    Hope this helps
    Thanks reddog, I have turned it off. The pending PIN update confirmation group is still there. I guess I will have to ask my contacts to add me one last time and then this will not appear. Thanks a lot for your prompt help.

  5. #5
    reddog187's Avatar
    reddog187 no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    STACK
    Posts
    8,907
    Quote Originally Posted by sudo View Post
    Thanks reddog, I have turned it off. The pending PIN update confirmation group is still there. I guess I will have to ask my contacts to add me one last time and then this will not appear. Thanks a lot for your prompt help.
    If you have a backup of your data, you can use the Backup/Restore > Advanced you can load up your contacts from a backup. Just pull the database from a backup and load it to your BB

  6. #6
    sudo's Avatar
    sudo no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by reddog187 View Post
    If you have a backup of your data, you can use the Backup/Restore > Advanced you can load up your contacts from a backup. Just pull the database from a backup and load it to your BB
    You are the man! I did not know that I can select a single database from a onefile backup that i have made and restore it.

    I have done it and problem is solved. A million thanks...

  7. #7
    reddog187's Avatar
    reddog187 no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    STACK
    Posts
    8,907
    Quote Originally Posted by sudo View Post
    You are the man! I did not know that I can select a single database from a onefile backup that i have made and restore it.

    I have done it and problem is solved. A million thanks...
    anytime

  8. #8
    poizniv's Avatar
    poizniv no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    17
    Quote Originally Posted by reddog187 View Post
    If you have a backup of your data, you can use the Backup/Restore > Advanced you can load up your contacts from a backup. Just pull the database from a backup and load it to your BB

    Awesome! I never knew how the advanced option worked. Just fixed my BB Mess contacts. Thanks!

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •