Results 1 to 8 of 8

If anyone can give me some tips here would be greatly appreciated, I have never ... Server Admins forum

  1. #1
    mark0's Avatar
    mark0 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    4

    First Time BES Express Setup

    Advertisement



    If anyone can give me some tips here would be greatly appreciated, I have never used this software before or a blackberry :|
    But I am a senior tech for a firm and we need to implement this.
    I have installed the software on our 2003 standard server w/exchange (as to what I think is right)
    Added a client and thats it.
    the client does connect when in its cradle and bes see's it but I cant get it to connect when on the road I just want to sync mail and calender.

    What ports do i need to open on my router for incoming requests from the phone ?

    For the MAPI setup in the setup i typed my Exchange server name and the BESAdmin account for the user is this correct ?

    I have added the BESAdmin user permissions to exchange as the guide says
    Other then this I have not done anything everything is how it would be when it is a default install so any tips will be awesome.

  2. #2
    jerrycrabb's Avatar
    jerrycrabb no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    AskMe4It
    Posts
    739

    Re: First Time BES Express Setup

    Welcome to Pinstack, I'm sure someone will be along soon who knows more about BES than I do. I'm excited about this thread because I've been thinking about doing this very thing. I hope to learn right along with you.
    Build a man a fire and he shall be warm for the night. Catch a man on fire and he shall be warm for the rest of his life!

  3. #3
    mark0's Avatar
    mark0 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    4

    Re: First Time BES Express Setup

    Sounds good

  4. #4
    andrewthomas's Avatar
    andrewthomas no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    2521F913
    Posts
    125

    Re: First Time BES Express Setup

    Mark
    I am / was on BES Express and had problems with the install.
    Not meaning to sound like an **** but had a real problem when I installed, when I installed exactly as per the instructions provided I did not have a problem.

    Key points were

    Install BES logged in as the BES control account
    Configured the MAPI correctly
    removed admin rights for the accounts that were using BES (including mine!)
    Assigned the send as receive as permissions in ADCU

    All in all it took me 2 weeks to get sending / recievig and syncing correctly, you will get there, its just a case of checking and double checking IMHO. there are others better placed to go through step by step.

    Having said that. two months on, we have upgraded to 11 users on BES and it is running like a dream,

  5. #5
    jerrycrabb's Avatar
    jerrycrabb no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    AskMe4It
    Posts
    739

    Re: First Time BES Express Setup

    I like the dream part, the rest sounds really frustrating.
    Build a man a fire and he shall be warm for the night. Catch a man on fire and he shall be warm for the rest of his life!

  6. #6
    audit's Avatar
    audit no está en línea BES Guru
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    ASK
    Posts
    241

    Re: First Time BES Express Setup

    Quote Originally Posted by mark0
    What ports do i need to open on my router for incoming requests from the phone ?
    Make sure that you have port 3101 TCP is opened on the firewall to the BES Server. That is very important.

  7. #7
    mark0's Avatar
    mark0 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    4

    Re: First Time BES Express Setup

    Do i need to open that port for Incoming or outgoing or both ?

  8. #8
    mark0's Avatar
    mark0 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    4

    Re: First Time BES Express Setup

    I have made the BES Account added the send and rec permission and the view store permission what should you type in the MAPI section ? servername and BES account name ?

    Should I be able to see MAPI in exchange or anywhere else or just in BES, cheers for help all

    Also the WLAN section in BES Express should I set this up as I have not ?
    I was assuming I coulkd get the client up and going using the cradle on a workstation on the network.
    Last edited by mark0; 03-26-2007 at 12:38 AM.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •