Results 1 to 13 of 13

Hi, One of the client reported to me that each time he creates a meeting ... Server Admins forum

  1. #1
    jerome521's Avatar
    jerome521 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    51

    DST issue

    Advertisement



    Hi,
    One of the client reported to me that each time he creates a meeting on his bb, the meeting shows up 1 hour ahead on outlook. I've tried this myself and noticed that issue too. Now, if the meeting was created from outlook, the time shows up corrected on both bb and outlook. I did made sure that the DST is applied on the hh. I also did a Windows update on the pc and installed all updates it found. I'm not sure if this is a BES or Exchange issue. We've patched our BES server last year and according to RIM, you no longer need to apply the patch again if you already applied the DST patch last year. We are running on Exchange 2000 and BES 4.0. Can anyone shed some light on this issue? Thank you so much for all your help....

  2. #2
    Keyscan's Avatar
    Keyscan no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    28
    Quote Originally Posted by jerome521 View Post
    Hi,
    One of the client reported to me that each time he creates a meeting on his bb, the meeting shows up 1 hour ahead on outlook. I've tried this myself and noticed that issue too. Now, if the meeting was created from outlook, the time shows up corrected on both bb and outlook. I did made sure that the DST is applied on the hh. I also did a Windows update on the pc and installed all updates it found. I'm not sure if this is a BES or Exchange issue. We've patched our BES server last year and according to RIM, you no longer need to apply the patch again if you already applied the DST patch last year. We are running on Exchange 2000 and BES 4.0. Can anyone shed some light on this issue? Thank you so much for all your help....

    Version of cdo.dll on the exchange server and BES server for starters.

  3. #3
    dlogsdon's Avatar
    dlogsdon no está en línea BES Pro
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    33
    I am also seeing this on a couple users, I have figured out if it is all though.
    What is the version of BES that you are on?

    -Drew

  4. #4
    dlogsdon's Avatar
    dlogsdon no está en línea BES Pro
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    33
    I have just tested my config, we have the most updated firmware on the 8830, and the lastest updates on the BES 4.1.4 mr4, and both the Exchange and BES server is updated.
    CDO.dll files are also the same.
    I am looking at my logs now.

    -Drew

  5. #5
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    I have reports from another BES user that this solution worked for him:

    hayden
    Stack Admin



    Device Details: 8320
    Jul 2004/8,429 posts
    Blog Entries: 2
    Trust Level:




    Clock did not change to display the correct time for DST (BES)



    Problem (Users on BES)
    The BlackBerry device did not display the correct time for Daylight Saving Time (DST). At 2 AM on 11 March 2007, the BlackBerry device clock remained at 2 AM instead of changing to 3 AM.

    Cause
    The time zone database on the BlackBerry device does not have the updated DST information. A BlackBerry device running BlackBerry Device Software 4.2 or higher does not have the 2007 DST patch installed and is activated on a BlackBerry Enterprise Server running software versions prior to 4.0 Service Pack 6 or 4.1 Service Pack 3. If the BlackBerry Device Software is upgraded to a version that already contains the new DST information (that is, BlackBerry Device Software 4.2 Service Pack 1 or higher), or if another BlackBerry device that has been updated with the new DST information is activated for the same BlackBerry device user, this problem may occur. The previous DST information was backed up from the unpatched BlackBerry device. When the time zone information is restored, it overwrites the new DST information in the BlackBerry Device Software time zone database with the previous DST information.
    Note: This can be confirmed by trying to manually set the clock to 2:01 AM on 11 March 2007. If the correct DST tables are present, this should not be possible.

    Workaround
    Complete the following steps:
    1. Remove the BlackBerry device user from the BlackBerry Enterprise Server. Note: When prompted to remove all existing BlackBerry data, select Yes.
    2. Connect the BlackBerry device to the BlackBerry Desktop Manager.
    3. On the BlackBerry device, go to Options > Advanced Options > Service Books.
    4. Delete all Desktop [<service_book_ID>] or BlackBerry [<service_book_ID>] service books.
    5. In BlackBerry Desktop Manager, click Backup and Restore, then follow the on-screen prompts to back up the BlackBerry device data.
    6. Click Backup and Restore again.
    7. Select Advanced, then delete the Time Zone Patch entry.
    8. Perform a security wipe of the BlackBerry device.
    9. Click Backup and Restore again and restore the backup file created in step 5.
    10. Add BlackBerry device user to the BlackBerry Enterprise Server.
    This is a previously reported issue that has been escalated internally to our development team. No resolution time frame is currently available. Updates to resolve DST 2007 problems will be posted as soon as they are available on the www.blackberry.com/dst2007 web site.


    Additional Information
    The time zone database cannot be cleared using BlackBerry Desktop Manager. A security wipe is required. For more information on the impact of DST changes in 2007 on BlackBerry solutions, go to www.blackberry.com/dst2007.
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  6. #6
    dlogsdon's Avatar
    dlogsdon no está en línea BES Pro
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    33
    Sorry I tried this and it didn't work.
    So far I have set an appt on the BB and checked OWA to make sure it wasn't the local outlook, it wasn't.

    I don't believe it is on the devices since they are updated with the latest firmware and some still have the time zone patch app on them.
    I am still looking at the logs though.


    -Drew

  7. #7
    dlogsdon's Avatar
    dlogsdon no está en línea BES Pro
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    33
    I think it maybe permissions based, the previous admin install the server with the administrator's account.
    I am seeing CDOCalendar errors in my magt logs.
    I will transfer the service to the BESadmin account tonight.
    I will let you know if it fixes it.
    -Drew

  8. #8
    jerome521's Avatar
    jerome521 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    51
    Quote Originally Posted by dlogsdon View Post
    I am also seeing this on a couple users, I have figured out if it is all though.
    What is the version of BES that you are on?

    -Drew
    Thanks for replying. Were running on BES 4.0 an Exchange 2000. How can I check the CDO.dll version and what is the current CDO.dll version for BES and Exchange? How did you figure the solution? I have Sprint 8830 and its happening on by work BB and other users as well. thanks.

  9. #9
    guitarabrands's Avatar
    guitarabrands no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    2
    We were getting an error that said "Patch Manager Running... Patch Not Found".

    The fix that worked for us was going to the RIM Blackberry DST page [FONT=Arial][FONT=Arial]and manually loading the patch onto the Blackberry via USB cable. It gives an error, but a couple of minutes later, the patch is running. [/FONT][/FONT]

  10. #10
    Keyscan's Avatar
    Keyscan no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    28
    Quote Originally Posted by jerome521 View Post
    Thanks for replying. Were running on BES 4.0 an Exchange 2000. How can I check the CDO.dll version and what is the current CDO.dll version for BES and Exchange? How did you figure the solution? I have Sprint 8830 and its happening on by work BB and other users as well. thanks.

    You wouldn't happen to be running roughly cdo.dll version 6.0.6619.9, would you?

    Search for cdo.dll on each server locally and ensure there is only one copy being found. Right click on the file, select properties. Click on the Version tab at the top, and read the version number.

    Complete this on the Exchange 2000 box and the BES 4.0 box.

  11. #11
    Keyscan's Avatar
    Keyscan no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    28
    I would like to see if anyone has confirmation on the appropriate cdo.dll version for Exchange 2000 that is dst compliant. I have only been able to find info for Exchange 2003 SP2 from Microsoft's support site.

  12. #12
    jquintana's Avatar
    jquintana no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    2
    Another suggestions for checking cdo.dll versions here. I had this same exact problem yesterday and the new cdo.dll on the BES fixed the problem.

  13. #13
    jerome521's Avatar
    jerome521 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    51
    Quote Originally Posted by Keyscan View Post
    You wouldn't happen to be running roughly cdo.dll version 6.0.6619.9, would you?

    Search for cdo.dll on each server locally and ensure there is only one copy being found. Right click on the file, select properties. Click on the Version tab at the top, and read the version number.

    Complete this on the Exchange 2000 box and the BES 4.0 box.


    Thanks. I checked the BES server the cdo.dll version is 6.0.6619.9. I found 2 other cdo.dll files but thats because we also use the Idokkoro Mobile admin. I also checked our Exchange server and found 2 entries. One says cdo.dll version 6.0.6619.9 and excdo.dll with the same version.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •