Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20

Hi group, I've been working on getting the DST patch for handhelds deployed but I've ... Server Admins forum

  1. #1
    JPenrose's Avatar
    JPenrose no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    11

    Question DST device patch 'Push' help

    Advertisement



    Hi group,

    I've been working on getting the DST patch for handhelds deployed but I've hit a wall. Hoping some of you may have worked through this and can help.

    Following the directions produced by RIM for updating devices, I created a distribution point on a workstation in the \Shared directory, configured the permissions (EVERYONE FC), setup the handheld config tool as directed, configured a policy etc etc.

    I can see that the devices I assigned in my test group are reporting that they 'see' there's a software config assigned to them (DST2007) and the 3 units show a status of OK and show an application status of Install Required. Trouble is that none of the 3 seem to have applied the patch. The Query tool says Helper Not Installed.

    Here's a couple lines from the handheld status screen to illustrate:

    Configuration Name: DST2007
    Server Name: BES
    Status Check Time: 2/20/2007 11:55:53 AM
    Configuration Status: OK
    System Status: Up to date
    Application Status: Install Required

    I'm allowing external network connections via the policy assigned to the software config (per RIM instructions) and I am also not restricting third party application downloads.

    Any suggestions on where to go from here? Is there any reason why I should have to use the BES server as the distro point? I'm using a management PC to do it right now but clearly that's not working.

    TIA
    -J

  2. #2
    DCookSta's Avatar
    DCookSta no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    312C4157
    Posts
    2,331

    Re: DST device patch 'Push' help

    That sounds just like how I set up our BES push of the patch. Except I did use the BES server as the place where the patch is stored. Try and move the files there and see if you can push the update. Also it does take up to 4 hours for BES to push the update to your clients. That's how often it actually polls the handhelds. Hope this helps.

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  3. #3
    wizkid1981's Avatar
    wizkid1981 no está en línea BES Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    113

    Re: DST device patch 'Push' help

    First of all make sure you follow the below article step by step to ensure you are setting up the pushes properly.

    http://www.blackberry.com/btsc/searc...%200%202617066

    Second, what version of BES are you running? If you are running BES 4.1 SP1 or earlier then you may need to upgrade to 4.1.3 in order to get pushed working properly. Check out the following article for reference.

    http://www.blackberry.com/btsc/searc...%200%203990626

  4. #4
    bbgirl35's Avatar
    bbgirl35 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    14

    Re: DST device patch 'Push' help

    I hope you have updated your BES first.

    Doing this push will not change anything, if you didnt update the BES first.

  5. #5
    Crewdawg257's Avatar
    Crewdawg257 no está en línea BES Pro
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    248

    Re: DST device patch 'Push' help

    He has updated the BES already.
    --
    I suspect that Microsoft Access is nothing but Microsoft Excel with a VBScript wrapper.
    - Unknown

  6. #6
    vyperz's Avatar
    vyperz no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    PIN/ID
    240F667B
    Posts
    660

    Re: DST device patch 'Push' help

    This is interesting.. I'm stuck on the same boat. = [

    We're running Bes 4.0.6.12.

    Last week, I reviewed the same link 'wizkid1981' posted above.
    I've completed task 1 and task 2. I also checked to make sure the CDO.dll file is registered correctly, and it was.

    Is there anything else I should check? Please share your thoughts.

    Thanks!~
    Last edited by vyperz; 02-23-2007 at 03:23 PM.
    vipz o';'o

    Pinstack.com ~ where Blackberry Professionals Connect!
    Get your Pinstack Gear here!~

  7. #7
    Crewdawg257's Avatar
    Crewdawg257 no está en línea BES Pro
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    248

    Re: DST device patch 'Push' help

    I think you need to apply some updates to the BES fix some "App Push" issues. I am on 4.1.2 and the push works great. I have since upgraded to 4.1.3.
    --
    I suspect that Microsoft Access is nothing but Microsoft Excel with a VBScript wrapper.
    - Unknown

  8. #8
    vyperz's Avatar
    vyperz no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    PIN/ID
    240F667B
    Posts
    660

    Re: DST device patch 'Push' help

    Quote Originally Posted by Crewdawg257
    I think you need to apply some updates to the BES fix some "App Push" issues. I am on 4.1.2 and the push works great. I have since upgraded to 4.1.3.
    ahhh.. I will look into this, thanks for the tip. = )
    vipz o';'o

    Pinstack.com ~ where Blackberry Professionals Connect!
    Get your Pinstack Gear here!~

  9. #9
    ekrimmer's Avatar
    ekrimmer no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    303150C7
    Posts
    106

    Re: DST device patch 'Push' help

    Quote Originally Posted by Crewdawg257
    I think you need to apply some updates to the BES fix some "App Push" issues. I am on 4.1.2 and the push works great. I have since upgraded to 4.1.3.
    Any gotchas with the 4.1.2 --> 4.1.3 service pack?
    8330
    PIN: 303150C7

  10. #10
    Crewdawg257's Avatar
    Crewdawg257 no está en línea BES Pro
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    248

    Re: DST device patch 'Push' help

    Just plan on the obligatory restart. Other than that it went well and everything came back up an running as usual.
    --
    I suspect that Microsoft Access is nothing but Microsoft Excel with a VBScript wrapper.
    - Unknown

  11. #11
    DCookSta's Avatar
    DCookSta no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    312C4157
    Posts
    2,331

    Re: DST device patch 'Push' help

    I pushed the patch from our BES and we have 4.0.6.7

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  12. #12
    vyperz's Avatar
    vyperz no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    PIN/ID
    240F667B
    Posts
    660

    Re: DST device patch 'Push' help

    I got our DST push working today, it works!~ I didn't have to upgrade our BES, we're currently on version 4.0.6.12.

    Thanks for your help and tips, it's much appreciated. ROCK ON!~ = )
    vipz o';'o

    Pinstack.com ~ where Blackberry Professionals Connect!
    Get your Pinstack Gear here!~

  13. #13
    DCookSta's Avatar
    DCookSta no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    312C4157
    Posts
    2,331

    Re: DST device patch 'Push' help

    Glad you got it working.

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  14. #14
    JPenrose's Avatar
    JPenrose no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    11

    Re: DST device patch 'Push' help

    Holy...dropped of the old Pinstack map for a bit.

    Thanks for all the replies.

    I did end up moving the files to the BES and had some success getting the patch manager and the DST patch to a test group. I then pushed it to the remaining 45 units but didn't see much action until I updated the PM to v 2.2. As soon as I did that I got 3 emails from users saying they got a Patch Applied message.

    I actually did push 10 patches before I updated the BES but the remainder are post BES patch (I presume by patch the BES you meant the CDO update).

    EDIT: Oh, maybe patch means SP/HF? Yes, Our BES is SP5 HF4

    -J

  15. #15
    berrydread's Avatar
    berrydread no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    1

    Re: DST device patch 'Push' help


    BlackBerry Enterprise Server Version: 4.1.0.40, Exchange 2003 fully DST patched.. my problem is my BB handhels is not getting the package push out, when I run the dst2007query it comes back with a "Helper not installed"

    I have rebuild the package twice, had it double check by a co-worker and blackberrry support has verify all the settings.

    I have have a combination of 7520 and 7100i devices on the bes, verify that both device has a supported platform and version..

    any suggestions, at this moment I am looking at a SP upgrade of the BES, trying the newly release v3 of the patch manager..


    what else can I do to try and get this working..

    Thanks for any feedback

    [/FONT]

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •