Hello, I currently have 2 BES licenses on 2 different servers in our NY office. ... Server Admins forum

waiter no está en línea Stack level 1

Question Disaster Recovery of the BES server...

Advertisement

Hello, I currently have 2 BES licenses on 2 different servers in our NY office. I will be migrating all users to one server soon. I am looking to implement a best practice disaster recovery solution. I willl be moving one server to our CA office. Ideally, it would be great if one server could fail over to the other. But I am open to all ideas. Please share. Thanks, Richie

Rcbjr no está en línea Stack Pro
    PIN/ID
    PM - Ask

Re: Disaster Recovery of the BES server...

waiter, Welcome to PinStack.

Richie, I'm not a BES expert, but separating your servers is definitely one part of the standared Disaster recovery plans.

Let us know if there is anything else we can do to help with this problem or your BB.

Rcbjr
    You Ask, We Will Answer
    Can’t Install theme via DM?No Additional Apps Found for Your Device
    Links to Usefull KB Articles

jason1114 no está en línea Stack level 2

If you already have 2 licenses the best thing for you to do would be to put 1/2 your users on 1 BES and 1/2 on the other. Make sure they are in the same BB domain and sharing a sql DB. When one of your BES goes down you can move the affected users from one BES to the other and they would be all set.

wizkid1981 no está en línea BES Guru

Putting half your user on 1 server and half on the other is NOT a very smart failover solution. If one of those servers were to fail then half your users are down without any backup plan. If you want to provide an intelligent failover solution the follow RIM article KB04647 if you are currently running BES 4.0 or higher or follow KB05032 if running 3.6.

Basically what you are doing in a nutshell is having 2 boxes with a mirror image BES.