Results 1 to 6 of 6

Hi, I've been using my 8700c with BIS, but recently moved my email to a ... Server Admins forum

  1. #1
    rsamms's Avatar
    rsamms no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask
    Posts
    20

    Question BIS to BES Migration

    Advertisement



    Hi,

    I've been using my 8700c with BIS, but recently moved my email to a hosted exchange server. The vendor affers BES, and I'm planning to sign up. I have a few questions about migrating .

    1. Do I need a different version of the Desktop software ? My HH came with Desktop Manager 4.1.08.

    2. I believe that I will have to uninstall the desktop manager and re-install it, is that so ?

    3. Will I need to wipe the HH and reconfigure from scratch ?

    4. After activating with BES, will I still able to receive e-mail from non- exchange accounts, via BIS ?

    If anyone can point me to a step by step set of instructions, I'd appreciate it.

    Thanks,

    rs

  2. #2
    bbtec's Avatar
    bbtec no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    23D76E42
    Posts
    48
    Making the switch to BES is not difficult but you will have to reinstall your desktop manager software or at least modify the installiation to BES doesn't matter what version you run as long as the BES admin has no special requirments. You want to ask the admin if he/she is running any IT policies that might limit the functions of your device. As long as he says no then call your provider and let them know your are going to a BES server to make sur your account is provisioned properly. Then activate wirelessly and enjoy. You should be able to keep your BIS email accounts as long an there is not an IT policy preventing it.

  3. #3
    cp6169's Avatar
    cp6169 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    PIN/ID
    3056468b
    Posts
    14,661

  4. #4
    M-66's Avatar
    M-66 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    7

    Re: BIS to BES Migration

    New user and loving my BB I'm making the same migration, too. My IT instructions for migration start with some ominous steps to *wipe* my BB! Is this necessary for enterprise activation?
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  5. #5
    cp6169's Avatar
    cp6169 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    PIN/ID
    3056468b
    Posts
    14,661

    Re: BIS to BES Migration

    No that is not necessary. My company did the transition as well and I was fine.

  6. #6
    rsamms's Avatar
    rsamms no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask
    Posts
    20

    Re: BIS to BES Migration

    bbtec and cp6169,
    Thanks for the help. I've been up and running on BES for 2 weeks now. Few problems, but overall fine.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •