Results 1 to 6 of 6

Hi All, quick question, moving from BES 4.1.3 / Domino 6.5 / MSDE to new ... Server Admins forum

  1. #1
    321's Avatar
    321
    321 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    3

    Question BES Move[MSDE2SQL] - SQL Table Schema question

    Advertisement



    Hi All, quick question, moving from BES 4.1.3 / Domino 6.5 / MSDE to new hardware, upgrade domino to 7.0.3 SPlatest and BES to 4.1.6 MRlatest. The MSDE will be moved to SQL.

    Now the question, should we move the MSDE to SQL and upgrade BES / Domino then or upgrade first BES / Domino to latest release and then move from MSDE to SQL ?

    This question is in regards to the db table scheme changes, are there major changes in the DB table schema ? (4.1.3 <-> 4.1.6)

    Thanks a lot !

    Best regards,
    321

  2. #2
    KalebsDad78's Avatar
    KalebsDad78 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    PIN/ID
    Just Ask
    Posts
    2,044
    I'll post this in the "Experts" forum and see if someone with a little more BES experience than what I have can help you out.
    New User? - Read the NEW USERS GUIDE

  3. #3
    PacketRat's Avatar
    PacketRat no está en línea BES Pro
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    PIN/ID
    26267461
    Posts
    374
    Since your going to new hardware I would get off MSDE and goto sql first. Then do the BES and Domino upgrade. You will have more flexibility that route. Hope that helps.
    -------
    PacketRat
    8330,8900,9630
    258CDFE8




  4. #4
    MWPatterson's Avatar
    MWPatterson no está en línea BES Pro
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask Plz
    Posts
    1,031
    Quote Originally Posted by PacketRat View Post
    Since your going to new hardware I would get off MSDE and goto sql first. Then do the BES and Domino upgrade. You will have more flexibility that route. Hope that helps.
    I agree this is the best route to go.

  5. #5
    321's Avatar
    321
    321 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    3
    Thanks for your opinions, in the end I believe the setup process will update the DB schema anyway if it is on MSDE or SQL ... I will try this way then.

    Thanks again,
    Cheers 321

  6. #6
    ice44's Avatar
    ice44 no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    1,060
    Quote Originally Posted by PacketRat View Post
    Since your going to new hardware I would get off MSDE and goto sql first. Then do the BES and Domino upgrade. You will have more flexibility that route. Hope that helps.
    have done this in the past and it's a very easy and provides you with more scalability later
    The young man knows the rules, and the old man will enforce them!
    __________________________

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •