Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16

Hey guys, i am just wondering, what is the reason i cannot use BES whith ... Server Admins forum

  1. #1
    GeneKam's Avatar
    GeneKam no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    232D8D38
    Posts
    756

    Bes + Bis?

    Advertisement



    Hey guys, i am just wondering, what is the reason i cannot use BES whith BB Unlimited Personal email from rogers, what is the reason i cannot use BES with such plan?
    "Drive by tornado-kicking, boy, i wish i could see that" - Yaku
    "Yeah! It was epic" - Gene

  2. #2
    kentrg's Avatar
    kentrg no está en línea BES Pro
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    246FBBBA
    Posts
    1,076

    Re: Bes + Bis?

    who told you this

    by the way I'm not experienced with rogers

  3. #3
    GeneKam's Avatar
    GeneKam no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    232D8D38
    Posts
    756

    Re: Bes + Bis?

    Well in the plan descriptions it says bis, other plans that are bes compatible is mentioned. this says only bis.
    "Drive by tornado-kicking, boy, i wish i could see that" - Yaku
    "Yeah! It was epic" - Gene

  4. #4
    sansaman's Avatar
    sansaman no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    29

    Re: Bes + Bis?

    because rogers will not allow a corporate customer go email crazy. If a company can sacrifice browsing for unlim emails for $15, where do you think rogers will make their money? Rogers wireless is a 80/20 company. 80% of their revenue comes from 20% of their corp customers, yet 80% of their consumers base generates 20% of their revenue.

  5. #5
    sansaman's Avatar
    sansaman no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    29

    Re: Bes + Bis?

    Bis - $15+
    Bes - $40+

    Plus, it's the way RIM designed their bes servers. It just won't work if you have a plan less than $40.
    Last edited by sansaman; 02-23-2008 at 01:08 PM.

  6. #6
    GeneKam's Avatar
    GeneKam no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    232D8D38
    Posts
    756

    Re: Bes + Bis?

    I understand the revenue and how their profits will thin if bes and bis were the same, but the question was why exactly there is no access to bis? Is it due to a differrent server the trafic goes through?
    Is the bes 'port' blocked that kind of thing.
    "Drive by tornado-kicking, boy, i wish i could see that" - Yaku
    "Yeah! It was epic" - Gene

  7. #7
    sansaman's Avatar
    sansaman no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    29

    Re: Bes + Bis?

    BIS server can be found at www.rogers.com/bis and a bes server is a seperate server purchased from rim installed on purchasing company's computers.

  8. #8
    pinkert11's Avatar
    pinkert11 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    14

    Re: Bes + Bis?

    Rogers is assuming that since BES (Blackberry Enterprise Server) is a corporate product that you would not solely be running personal email through it as it is designed to support corporate email and applications. Thus the 15 PERSONAL email plan is restricted to BIS (Blackberry Internet Service).

    Rogers is not the only provider that makes a distiction between BIS with personal use data plans and BES with corporate data plans. Verizion for example also has different pricing and plans for BIS and BES.

  9. #9
    pinkert11's Avatar
    pinkert11 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    14

    Re: Bes + Bis?

    Sorry double post, got timed out on
    Last edited by pinkert11; 02-23-2008 at 11:43 PM. Reason: double post

  10. #10
    75stripes's Avatar
    75stripes no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    9

    Re: Bes + Bis?

    If you're provisioned for BIS with your wireless carrier, the RIM relay only has you as a prosumer customer, meaning non-corporate customer. With a BES plan, you are provisioned for Enterprise and Prosumer service, meaning you can use both; however, some companies don't allow for personal email on company devices, so it might be part of their IT policy to block BIS email on your 'berry.

    With just a BIS plan, you will never be able to use BES, unless a wireless carrier employee actually provisions you on the RIM relay, in which case that employee would likely be disciplined. The reason for the price differences is that BES is direct push email, and BIS is traditional pull. However, you can have up to 10 personal email accounts on BIS, with one of them being a blackberry email address, which is push. That's how companies that don't have a BES server can still have push email for their employees by creating a blackberry email address in BIS, setting forwarding rules on their mail server to the blackberry email address, and changing the reply address on BIS to the work email address. Only a slightly longer delay in mail delivery (read seconds), but not nearly as long as the 15 - 20 minutes that BIS can take. However, Yahoo and Gmail work extremely well on BIS b/c they have agreements with RIM. Mail delivery of these email account types is practically push, though still BIS.

  11. #11
    jdchamp31's Avatar
    jdchamp31 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    24A7ED37
    Posts
    46
    Quote Originally Posted by sansaman View Post
    Bis - $15+
    Bes - $40+

    Plus, it's the way RIM designed their bes servers. It just won't work if you have a plan less than $40.
    It does not necessarily need to be over 40 bucks. TMO is 20 and you van use it and on my ANR plan through cingular its 25.

  12. #12
    sansaman's Avatar
    sansaman no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    29

    Re: Bes + Bis?

    Quote Originally Posted by jdchamp31 View Post
    It does not necessarily need to be over 40 bucks. TMO is 20 and you van use it and on my ANR plan through cingular its 25.
    In canada with Rogers, $40+ is the required for bes

  13. #13
    trashk's Avatar
    trashk no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    1

    Re: Bes + Bis?

    75 got it right. Basically the only difference between bis and bes plans is the access they provide. Only accounts provisioned for bes access (I.e.the more expensive plan ), will be able to use bes functionality. You can't hack it, its a part of the system.
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  14. #14
    EricaJ1073's Avatar
    EricaJ1073 no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    10,420

    Re: Bes + Bis?

    Quote Originally Posted by 75stripes View Post
    The reason for the price differences is that BES is direct push email, and BIS is traditional pull.
    BIS is push email also. It's pushed to your device.


  15. #15
    dvst8ion's Avatar
    dvst8ion no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    182

    Re: Bes + Bis?

    If you are on the BIS plan it should be a feature which is on your account which they use to regulate the conection. They are trying to make plans more affordable for consumers and still have the ability to support the bussiness customers. On average you use less data transfers with BIS accounts than if you are using the BES!!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •