Results 1 to 10 of 10

Hi, We are about to change our wiereless provider. Is there anything that needs to ... Server Admins forum

  1. #1
    BitCom's Avatar
    BitCom no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    2

    BES and switching carriers

    Advertisement



    Hi,

    We are about to change our wiereless provider. Is there anything that needs to be done on BES?
    Carrier 1 (existing one) provided us with BES and user licenses. I assume we are going to get BES user licenses from carrier 2. Does anyone have any expirience with this?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    MotoUp's Avatar
    MotoUp no está en línea BES Pro
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    3,360

    Re: BES and switching carriers

    BES is not carrier dependent. All you should have to do is activate your new devices and off you go! In fact, you can run devices from multiple carriers on one BES. Your licenses will not be affected at all.

  3. #3
    asavage5's Avatar
    asavage5 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    17

    Re: BES and switching carriers

    We are moving from AT&T to Verizon as our contracts run out...so we are currently running both through our BES. When the user gets a new BB from Verizon all we do is run the activation again and they are none the wiser...they just have a new toy

  4. #4
    BitCom's Avatar
    BitCom no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    2

    Re: BES and switching carriers

    I see...I just was not sure if BES SRP Identifier and Authentication Key were in any way related to carrier.

    Thanks a lot guys

  5. #5
    MotoUp's Avatar
    MotoUp no está en línea BES Pro
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    3,360

    Re: BES and switching carriers

    Nope, they are not related to carrier at all...only RIM.

  6. #6
    jason1114's Avatar
    jason1114 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    83

    Re: BES and switching carriers

    ~via BB the srp is only for you to connect to RIM it has nothing to do with the carrier. (wap.pinstack.com)~

  7. #7
    dkozinn's Avatar
    dkozinn no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    23f260fb
    Posts
    107

    Re: BES and switching carriers

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    Same with my company. We have BES servers located in 3 datacenters globally and they all serve multiple carriers. It all works just fine.

  8. #8
    mrtonetone's Avatar
    mrtonetone no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    1
    I have verizon wireless and t-mobile devices on my BES with no issues. Just activate like normal on whatever carrier.

  9. #9
    ryldup's Avatar
    ryldup no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    3

    Re: BES and switching carriers

    A BES license is a BES license is a BES license. Your original carrier will not want to tell you this, or your new carrier. They like you to buy everything from them. My govt Nextel rep was open and honest about the BES licenses and servers. You can make your own server if your IT staff have the hardware already, but the networks will want you to purchase everything from them. The BES has nothing to do with your carrier and like everyone previously has said, has everything to do with RIM. It's where they make the rest of their share of the pie. We were paying $75/BES license. We got a deal on our original 50 licenses. That's part of the RIMM earnings is that BES license.

  10. #10
    Nexcom Group's Avatar
    Nexcom Group no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    2

    Re: BES and switching carriers

    make sure your data plan on the new carrier is correct for enterprise services. Example for at&t if you choose the blackberry personal plan for 29.99 it will not work on enterprise svc but you choose the blackberry 44.99 plan that says enterprise is included it will work on the BES.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •