Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 53

I'm new to the BB world (8700c). Everything works fine and I'm happy as can ... Server Admins forum

  1. #16
    jimmyh's Avatar
    jimmyh no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    16

    Advertisement



    I'm new to the BB world (8700c). Everything works fine and I'm happy as can be, but....I have service with Cingular and use Yahoo as my mail provider(with a little help from Outlook to sync)..I continue to read about BES and APN's. My APN is blank on my phone, should it stay that way or is there and advantage to me entering the APN-wap.cingular and the password and user ID?

  2. #17
    Rcbjr's Avatar
    Rcbjr no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    PM - Ask
    Posts
    14,848
    jimmyh, Welcome to PinStack.

    Until you download a 3rd Party App that gives you a cannot connect error, I would just leave the TCP APN settings blank BES is mainly for Corporate or small business use.

    Let us know if there is anything else we can do to help with your BB.

    Rcbjr
    You Ask, We Will Answer
    Can’t Install theme via DM?No Additional Apps Found for Your Device
    Links to Usefull KB Articles

  3. #18
    Candice2007's Avatar
    Candice2007 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    1
    Newbie here... where/how do you get a BES server? Is this an account with a 3rd party, or software, or something else? I'm missing where 'exactly' the BES server is...

  4. #19
    Rcbjr's Avatar
    Rcbjr no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    PM - Ask
    Posts
    14,848
    Candice2007, Welcome to PinStack.

    You either get access to your Company BES, contact and suscribe to a Hosted BES, or set up your own BES with your own Exchange server. The first Post in this thread pretty well explains what a BES is.

    Let us know if there is anything else we can do to help with this problem or your BB.

    Rcbjr
    You Ask, We Will Answer
    Can’t Install theme via DM?No Additional Apps Found for Your Device
    Links to Usefull KB Articles

  5. #20
    wizkid1981's Avatar
    wizkid1981 no está en línea BES Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    113

    Re: All about Blackberry Enterprise Server (BES)

    Quote Originally Posted by Candice2007
    Newbie here... where/how do you get a BES server? Is this an account with a 3rd party, or software, or something else? I'm missing where 'exactly' the BES server is...
    You can purchase a BES with different levels of TSupport through RIM

    http://www.blackberry.com/support/tsupport/index.shtml

  6. #21
    pthomas11's Avatar
    pthomas11 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    23d70f0b
    Posts
    289

    Re: All about Blackberry Enterprise Server (BES)

    incredible information

  7. #22
    stlloyd83's Avatar
    stlloyd83 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    23e2be7e
    Posts
    2

    Re: All about Blackberry Enterprise Server (BES)

    when i go to put my emial address in.... it tells me that i need to change setting on it please help....................
    S.T.L

  8. #23
    splenterke's Avatar
    splenterke no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    1

    Re: All about Blackberry Enterprise Server (BES)

    I have installed BES 4.1.2 on a server with Windows 2003 server. Everything works fine. Now I want to install only Blackberry Manager on a remote computer. I can't install it from the SP2. And when i'm install it from version 4.1, it says that de database version is newer, so I have to cancel the installation. Does Blackberry Manager exist as a full version 4.1.2, not as an upgrade?

  9. #24
    sunilnmu's Avatar
    sunilnmu no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    1

    Re: All about Blackberry Enterprise Server (BES)

    I am new to BlackBerry world. I have installed BES 4.1 (for lotus domino with MDS services). After installation I added one user and assinged device to that user.
    After this MDS activation process start automatically on device ( Note :my device is connected with USB cable) . MDS activation completed successfully. After I can brows web sites using blackberry browser but when I disconnect my device and try to brows web site using blackberry browser then it shows error "Can not connect to selected mobile service".

    Are there any setting to acess BES wirelessly?
    Also I can't activate MDS wirelessly.
    All things are functioning when I connect BlackBerry device using USB cable.

    Please help me in this regard.
    (Note:My BES server machine is behind NAT. does it make any difference)

  10. #25
    winbasic's Avatar
    winbasic no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    5

    Re: All about Blackberry Enterprise Server (BES)

    Hi,

    Apparently there are potential issues with Microsoft Exchange Server 2003, wireless calendar sync and BES. The hotfixs recommended in the BES Admin guide aren't valid if Service Pack 2 has been installed. Has anyone come across this problem and if so, what was the resolution? Its only the calendar that doesn't sync - everything else sync's fine. The message from the Blackberry Desktop Manager is that the messaging server doesn't support wireless synchronisation.

  11. #26
    mojo919's Avatar
    mojo919 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    24FC5F32
    Posts
    13

    Re: All about Blackberry Enterprise Server (BES)

    Quote Originally Posted by garycutri
    BES runs perfect on SBS 2003. But it is never recommended to install BES on ANY mail server.
    Hmm, i may have to setup a win2003/exchange 2007 + BES on 1 server.

    Why do you recommed against this ?

    Thanks

    mojo

  12. #27
    prudent89's Avatar
    prudent89 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    27

    Re: All about Blackberry Enterprise Server (BES)

    Quote Originally Posted by splenterke
    I have installed BES 4.1.2 on a server with Windows 2003 server. Everything works fine. Now I want to install only Blackberry Manager on a remote computer. I can't install it from the SP2. And when i'm install it from version 4.1, it says that de database version is newer, so I have to cancel the installation. Does Blackberry Manager exist as a full version 4.1.2, not as an upgrade?
    Call RIM's T-Support and they will help you FTP the full version that you need. "Been there, done that."

  13. #28
    LMartin's Avatar
    LMartin no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    205BBD64
    Posts
    2

    Re: All about Blackberry Enterprise Server (BES)

    Are the PIN messages archived with the carrier or BB?

  14. #29
    kunmingpete's Avatar
    kunmingpete no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    2

    Re: All about Blackberry Enterprise Server (BES)

    hi, I am completely new to blacbberry, British but live in China
    I had a sony phone for email, and it was easy to set up, and work with, but the keyboard was a nightmare, so I bought a blackberry pearl

    we bought the pearl in a shop, now i have no idea where to start. All information, seems to tell you about glitches and techniques, not setting it up

    where do i start ?

    we have signed up to a mobile service provider and it is getting a GPRS signal, but when i cnnect the cable to the lap top, it says 'not connected'

    and i have downloaded the desktop manager, which also says 'not connected'

    does someone have some simple instructions on where to start ? a helpline to talk me through this ?

    one of my staff thinks i have to buy a peice of kit(maybe 2) to sit in the office, is this right ?

    cheers for any help - lost in blackberry, Pete

  15. #30
    hdawg1's Avatar
    hdawg1 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    1

    Re: All about Blackberry Enterprise Server (BES)

    I am new to blackberry as well. I have my device sync with the office BES but I also want to sync with my desktop at my home office. Is this possible?

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

LinkBacks (?)

  1. 04-29-2010, 05:17 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •