Results 1 to 8 of 8

Hi, I've been asked if I can add a BB to my BES. Usually, this ... Server Admins forum

  1. #1
    Gman1108's Avatar
    Gman1108 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    Just ask
    Posts
    244

    Adding a BB to BES

    Advertisement



    Hi,

    I've been asked if I can add a BB to my BES.

    Usually, this is straight foward, but this differs slightly...

    The user in question is not on our corporate account for his SIM.

    Can I add his BB to my BES by using the usual activation process or must he be on our corporate account for it to work?

    I thought as long as his email account is under my control (which it will be) I could activate him as normal, providing his carrier adds the correct enterprise setup to his account.

    Any advice will be great.
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  2. #2
    ice44's Avatar
    ice44 no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    1,060
    Yes you can place his BB on your BES....the carrier and SIM card dont matter.....I have 100+ devices on my BES and some of them are company bought and others are personal devices. I have users from every major carrier so the SIM has nothing to do with it.
    The young man knows the rules, and the old man will enforce them!
    __________________________

  3. #3
    reddrvgon's Avatar
    reddrvgon no está en línea Stack level 8
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    6,417
    I second ICE... And it even works internationally... I was using my company's BES (company is in texas) while in pakistan, with a local carrier...
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  4. #4
    Gman1108's Avatar
    Gman1108 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    Just ask
    Posts
    244
    Thanks guys, that's great!

    But still, this persons carrier needs to allow him the Enterprise stuff on his account to get data working, right?
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  5. #5
    MotoUp's Avatar
    MotoUp no está en línea BES Pro
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    3,360
    Yes, that is correct. He will need to have a Blackberry data plan.

  6. #6
    BES Noob's Avatar
    BES Noob no está en línea BES Pro
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    just ask
    Posts
    3,695
    I second what Moto says and you'll know off the bat if it is set up for BES service because if it isn't you won't be able to find the Enterprise Activation option in the Advanced Option Directory.

  7. #7
    Gman1108's Avatar
    Gman1108 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    Just ask
    Posts
    244
    Thanks, Chaps, that all makes sense, now lets see if the big people holding the purse strings tightly shut will let me use a BES CAL license for this person!!

    Thanks again, much appreciate your advise.

  8. #8
    reddrvgon's Avatar
    reddrvgon no está en línea Stack level 8
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    6,417
    Good luck with the big tight purses...
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •