Results 1 to 8 of 8

I'm having a hard time with the wifi data connection on my at&t 8820, please ... Blackberry 8800 & 8820 forum

  1. #1
    pharmboy's Avatar
    pharmboy no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    4

    Question wifi data

    Advertisement



    I'm having a hard time with the wifi data connection on my at&t 8820, please help if you can. I can connect through wifi and use the BB web browser fine, but any third party apps I install can't seem to use wifi, all go through my data plan, id like to use wifi for the speed of streaming video on some survelence software I'm trying, and also on opera mini. I know it's possible because many say they use opera through wifi so im guessing it's some setting I can't seem to locate. please help.
    Last edited by pharmboy; 02-03-2008 at 06:53 PM.

  2. #2
    shayind4's Avatar
    shayind4 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    48

    Re: wifi data

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    I'd like to use opera with wifi . Plz let me know when you get the solution/settings.

  3. #3
    BarnesIT's Avatar
    BarnesIT no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    Multiple
    Posts
    14

    Re: wifi data

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  4. #4
    BarnesIT's Avatar
    BarnesIT no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    Multiple
    Posts
    14
    Quote Originally Posted by BarnesIT View Post
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    Oops lost signal. Anywho, I'm having trouble with my wifi at home. Whenever I try to connect my 8820 reboots over and over and I have to go outside the wifi range to get the bb to turn on again. Any ideas?

  5. #5
    pharmboy's Avatar
    pharmboy no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    4

    Re: wifi data

    seems odd, what carrier do you have? I'd say you're best bet would just be to reload the os, but I really don't know. Any apps that you installed that could be the problem?

  6. #6
    cavyman's Avatar
    cavyman no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    6

    Re: wifi data

    I spoke with an AT&T customer service rep recently asking the same question. The rep told me that in order for the Wi-Fi connection to be used (and preferred), the program itself must be written to detect and use the Wi-Fi.

    In other words, those of us with the newest Wi-Fi BlackBerry's basically are relying on most software to be modified (additional coding + recompiling) to suite our Wi-Fi connections. There are already a few applications that are Wi-Fi compatible, but most data intensive applications (i.e. Opera Mini) are not there yet.
    Last edited by cavyman; 02-06-2008 at 09:45 PM.

  7. #7
    pharmboy's Avatar
    pharmboy no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    4

    Re: wifi data

    If that's the case, we should get some type of list together that contains programs that will currently work through wifi.

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  8. #8
    tweezak's Avatar
    tweezak no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    78

    Re: wifi data

    I think all of the Google apps I have installed use wifi when it's available and set up.

    www.google.com/a/help/intl/en/users/mobile.html

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •