Results 1 to 11 of 11

Is there any possible way to configure my 8820's applications like bb messenger, facebook, and ... Blackberry 8800 & 8820 forum

  1. #1
    tompuck15's Avatar
    tompuck15 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    6

    Wi-fi Help

    Advertisement



    Is there any possible way to configure my 8820's applications like bb messenger, facebook, and yahoo 3.0 to run through my wi-fi internet instead of through the network(att) internet.

  2. #2
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    Do you have your Manage Connections set to WiFi Preferred? If so, assuming you have a data plan and are connected via WIFI these applications should run over the carriers network via your WiFi connection. If you want to test this try turning our Mobile Network off.
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  3. #3
    tompuck15's Avatar
    tompuck15 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    6
    That's the thing I don't have a data plan and I was hoping to be able to just use the wi-fi. I keep running into all kinds of difficulties. I think as consumers we get screwed into paying rediculous fees. I.e. having to pay rediculous amounts for texts when I had an unlimited data plan, which as it was explained to me is the same network that is used to send text messages.

  4. #4
    rjs87's Avatar
    rjs87 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    337
    I've tried every possible way and apps or even the browser doesn't work with just wifi
    Providers do this on purpose otherwise they would lose a ton of money if people bought the phones and could just use wifi

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  5. #5
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    From my experience only the Browser will work on WiFi if you have no data plan...
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  6. #6
    rjs87's Avatar
    rjs87 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    337
    thats more then i got i was never able to even get the browser to work
    **There are 2 types of people in this world: those who use the search bar and those who do not**

  7. #7
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    From my experience the 8320 browser works even with no SIM Card inserted...I am not sure why you cannot get the browser on line. It may be a router issue....
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  8. #8
    Amigotek's Avatar
    Amigotek no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    21D7B3C6
    Posts
    1,569
    Quote Originally Posted by tompuck15 View Post
    That's the thing I don't have a data plan and I was hoping to be able to just use the wi-fi. I keep running into all kinds of difficulties. I think as consumers we get screwed into paying rediculous fees. I.e. having to pay rediculous amounts for texts when I had an unlimited data plan, which as it was explained to me is the same network that is used to send text messages.
    MMS goes through the same network as data but not SMS. SMS has a specialized server that is used to direct the message to the correct location whether that be to the recieving phone or another carrier.

    Zo

  9. #9
    tompuck15's Avatar
    tompuck15 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by GaryF View Post
    From my experience the 8320 browser works even with no SIM Card inserted...I am not sure why you cannot get the browser on line. It may be a router issue....
    The browser works, just wish I could use apps...
    The only reason I have no more internet is because I had to choose between unlimited texting and unlimited media plan because I'm a broke college kid :cry:. And the overage in texting was way too much with my friends so I had to get rid of the media plan. Is there a way that I can send sms style messages to my friends with an unlimited data plan? I know I've heard of online applications that let you do so but haven't ever found a decent one.

  10. #10
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    Take a look at this application (works on data). I am not a user but many here swear by it!

    http://www.beejive.com/
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  11. #11
    rjs87's Avatar
    rjs87 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    337
    I don't know if this is an option but ATT does offer a FAN account for broke college kids like you and me

    You might wanna check that out, I would post the link but I'm not at my desk right now

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •