Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 29

Hello everyone, I use the 8700 for work and 8100 for personal (same sim card). ... Blackberry 8800 & 8820 forum

  1. #1
    terp88's Avatar
    terp88 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    2

    Using both 8700 & 8100

    Advertisement



    Hello everyone,

    I use the 8700 for work and 8100 for personal (same sim card). Only issue is the different PIN #’s for each device. Anyone have a suggestion as to how I can deal with this? Say if I were to give people my 8800 pin, while using the 8100, could I have incoming pin messages “forwarded” to it (8100)?

    Thanks in advance.
    Stu

  2. #2
    jonnyxedge's Avatar
    jonnyxedge no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    28A4ED28
    Posts
    3,945

    Re: Using both 8700 & 8100

    I don't think you can do that. I do believe that you would have to have to seperate lines. At least that's what I do. ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  3. #3
    Einherjer's Avatar
    Einherjer no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    842

    Re: Using both 8700 & 8100

    Can't forward bb messenger messages.

  4. #4
    EricaJ1073's Avatar
    EricaJ1073 no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    10,420

    Re: Using both 8700 & 8100

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~ That's not possible. Each device has its own unique pin so messages sent to one pin can't be forwarded to another.

  5. #5
    mcgowan08's Avatar
    mcgowan08 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    24053627
    Posts
    435

    Re: Using both 8700 & 8100

    I have a question maybe somebody on this thread can answer. I have an 8800 w/ Cingular, if I were to buy a Pearl could I swap the sim card back and forth between both phones on the same number? In effect I could have two phones on the same line wothout having to get an extra line?

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  6. #6
    jerrycrabb's Avatar
    jerrycrabb no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    AskMe4It
    Posts
    739

    Re: Using both 8700 & 8100

    I concur. Welcome to Pinstack!
    Build a man a fire and he shall be warm for the night. Catch a man on fire and he shall be warm for the rest of his life!

  7. #7
    jerrycrabb's Avatar
    jerrycrabb no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    AskMe4It
    Posts
    739

    Re: Using both 8700 & 8100

    Quote Originally Posted by mcgowan08
    I have a question maybe somebody on this thread can answer. I have an 8800 w/ Cingular, if I were to buy a Pearl could I swap the sim card back and forth between both phones on the same number? In effect I could have two phones on the same line wothout having to get an extra line?

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    This is correct. You can also use the Device switcher on the DM to synch most information between the phones. Both phones will have different PIN's so any BB contacts you have on BB Messenger or who contacts you thru PIN to PIN messaging may be briefly confused.
    Build a man a fire and he shall be warm for the night. Catch a man on fire and he shall be warm for the rest of his life!

  8. #8
    flash24's Avatar
    flash24 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    3319688f
    Posts
    4,063

    Re: Using both 8700 & 8100

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~sorry no can do, just get a sim for your 8100

  9. #9
    vlestat123's Avatar
    vlestat123 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    2046F9FD
    Posts
    56

    Lightbulb Re: Using both 8700 & 8100

    Quote Originally Posted by terp88
    Hello everyone,

    I use the 8700 for work and 8100 for personal (same sim card). Only issue is the different PIN #’s for each device. Anyone have a suggestion as to how I can deal with this? Say if I were to give people my 8800 pin, while using the 8100, could I have incoming pin messages “forwarded” to it (8100)?

    Thanks in advance.
    Stu
    Well my friend you cant do that cause two simcards with one number that means two simcards with one imsi number which would mean a conflict in the system of blackberry.
    that happens alot with us here as my customers would like to do always.
    that causes most of the time in deactivating the service from RIM side.

    and if its not deactivated it wont work properly as there might be a delay in the service for hours and sometimes days.

    -from technical side:
    when one simcard is under use (making a phone call or under data transfering) the other sim would be suspended until this one and vise versa.

  10. #10
    jerrycrabb's Avatar
    jerrycrabb no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    AskMe4It
    Posts
    739

    Re: Using both 8700 & 8100

    Maybe I misunderstood. I thought the OP was asking if he/she could use either her/his 8800, or his/her 8100, using his/her one SIM card. For instance, he/she could take her/his larger 8800 to work, and then later, swap her/his SIM into his/her slimmer 8100 for a night on the town (possibly some clubbin, maybe she'll/he'll drop down and get her/his eagle on.) If this is the case, then YES you can use both devices (one at a time) with you're handy dandy SIM card (which designates you, and thus your number on the GSM network.) This is one of the HUGE advantages over the CDMA network!

    so, say it with me: "HOORAY for GSM! HOORAY BEER!"


    Edit: This is not the answer to the OP's question. This is the answer to mcgowan08's question. I was confused. The answer to the OP's question is "No."
    Last edited by jerrycrabb; 03-25-2007 at 06:04 PM.
    Build a man a fire and he shall be warm for the night. Catch a man on fire and he shall be warm for the rest of his life!

  11. #11
    EricaJ1073's Avatar
    EricaJ1073 no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    10,420

    Re: Using both 8700 & 8100

    Quote Originally Posted by mcgowan08
    I have a question maybe somebody on this thread can answer. I have an 8800 w/ Cingular, if I were to buy a Pearl could I swap the sim card back and forth between both phones on the same number? In effect I could have two phones on the same line wothout having to get an extra line?

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    Yes you can do this. I am doing this right now. I am sim swapping between a BB 8100 Pearl (black) and a SideKick 3.


  12. #12
    mcookyconsp's Avatar
    mcookyconsp no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    73

    Re: Using both 8700 & 8100

    There is a SIM CLONE. I searched on line and found SIM CLONE. You can clone your sim card and have it in 2 phones. I did not try it yet. But it does exist.

  13. #13
    jerrycrabb's Avatar
    jerrycrabb no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    AskMe4It
    Posts
    739

    Re: Using both 8700 & 8100

    Quote Originally Posted by mcookyconsp
    There is a SIM CLONE. I searched on line and found SIM CLONE. You can clone your sim card and have it in 2 phones. I did not try it yet. But it does exist.
    That's interesting.
    Build a man a fire and he shall be warm for the night. Catch a man on fire and he shall be warm for the rest of his life!

  14. #14
    siren279's Avatar
    siren279 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    2

    Re: Using both 8700 & 8100

    Hi All, im new to Pinstack...in regard to the first question, the answer would be No, since theres no way to forward the messages back and forth from bb to bb. In terms of the other question about the Sim. I happen to work for Cingular and I switch my sim card between my two devices with no problem. I have a razr that I just switched from. The only issues would be downloads since they are based from the IMEI of the phone not the sim card.

  15. #15
    DCookSta's Avatar
    DCookSta no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    312C4157
    Posts
    2,331

    Re: Using both 8700 & 8100

    And illegal.

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •