Results 1 to 10 of 10

Ive had my 8820 for a couple of months now but I am having major ... Blackberry 8800 & 8820 forum

  1. #1
    janie215's Avatar
    janie215 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    256A910E
    Posts
    106

    Should I get rid? HELP

    Advertisement



    Ive had my 8820 for a couple of months now but I am having major problems with it.

    When I try to turn on wi-fi the red light flashes lots of time then turns itself off, then the little egg timer comes up, takes ages to restart then the same thing happens again with the red light. This keeps on happening so Ive just given up with the wi-fi.

    My next problem is when I try to sync with my macbook. It seems to sync all of my old e mails so I end up getting hundreds of old emails being transferred to my phone.

    Has anyone else had these problems.

    This is my last try to get this sorted before I go back to my pearl which is ashame as I love the new keypad on it.

    Please help!!!

  2. #2
    diabloboi87's Avatar
    diabloboi87 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    31cdb8ca
    Posts
    235
    I'm going to assume right off the bat that you've done your standard battery with this not working I'll move on to my question have your tried wiping the device to see if this resolves the issue?

  3. #3
    janie215's Avatar
    janie215 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    256A910E
    Posts
    106

    8820 problem

    Thanks for your reply!!! No I havent tried wiping it yet, maybe I should try that? Do you know if this is a common problem??

  4. #4
    demyxxx's Avatar
    demyxxx no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    30684914
    Posts
    72
    What is ur router make and model?? Some routers are a No No for bb wifi.. I had a belkin N router that re-boots my bb everytime I connect to it.. If that's the case then get another router.~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  5. #5
    janie215's Avatar
    janie215 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    256A910E
    Posts
    106
    I also have a Belkin N router - not had it very long. Damn!

    What did you do? Am thinking of changing BB to an 8320 - what do you reckon? do you still think Id have the same problem?

  6. #6
    demyxxx's Avatar
    demyxxx no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    30684914
    Posts
    72
    That's the same router I had that kept restarted my 8320. I think I heard somewhere that if u upgraded the firmware of the router it'll fix it?? It was addressed somewhere I couldn't remember.. Even if u changed the device I don't think it'll be much help.. Have u upgraded to 4.5 yet on ur BB? I heard that helped solved the problem as well..~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  7. #7
    janie215's Avatar
    janie215 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    256A910E
    Posts
    106
    Im in the process of trying to upgrade to OS 4.5 but Orange UK hasnt released it yet. The other problem Ive got is that Im a Mac user so dont have the desktop software.

    Thanks for your help think I will have to do a bit more digging.

  8. #8
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Quote Originally Posted by janie215 View Post
    Im in the process of trying to upgrade to OS 4.5 but Orange UK hasnt released it yet. The other problem Ive got is that Im a Mac user so dont have the desktop software.

    Thanks for your help think I will have to do a bit more digging.
    Hi Janie,

    You won't be able to do any upgrading of your device without the Desktop Manager. You'll need to either set up a partition on your Mac and run Windows there or use another PC that has the Windows OS.

  9. #9
    janie215's Avatar
    janie215 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    256A910E
    Posts
    106
    Thanks RoGro - thats what I have now done and everything is now sorted!! I cant believe it! The new os 4.5 is excellent - loads better and Ive partitioned my mac so got both windows and mac so have managed to install desktop manager. Ive even managed to get the Wi-Fi to work now with my Belkin router since upgrading.

    Brill!!!

  10. #10
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Quote Originally Posted by janie215 View Post
    Thanks RoGro - thats what I have now done and everything is now sorted!! I cant believe it! The new os 4.5 is excellent - loads better and Ive partitioned my mac so got both windows and mac so have managed to install desktop manager. Ive even managed to get the Wi-Fi to work now with my Belkin router since upgrading.

    Brill!!!
    Cool, Janie!

    Glad you've got it all sorted out!

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •