Results 1 to 6 of 6

am in serious panic stations. scenario is this i have a sim security code and ... Blackberry 8800 & 8820 forum

  1. #1
    kwame's Avatar
    kwame no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    24

    please help (phone about to get wiped)

    Advertisement



    am in serious panic stations.

    scenario is this i have a sim security code and device security code set up on my phone. on switching on i enter the sim code then it asks for the device code. all this has always worked fine when just using the phone on it's own.

    until i hooked up the Berry to my laptop this am to install a new application.

    it was asking me for the device code but kept telling me i was entering it incorrectly. it's 4digit numerical code and i had numlock on.

    anyways it's now telling me final attempt and that all device data will be lost if i enter incorrectly.

    i have been on the phone to my provider (orange uk) and they could not help any.

  2. #2
    jdellasala's Avatar
    jdellasala no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    1,573
    Hmmm - 4 DIGITS? Are you SURE?
    Do you hit the [Alt] key when you enter the code on the device, or just hit the keys with the numbers on them?

    If you do not hold down [Alt] when you type in the code, the code is NOT digits, but the corresponding LETTERS!

    If you think the code is 1234, try wers instead. Get the idea?

    Of course on a 71xx/81xx, 1234 would be etud!
    .
    JerryD

  3. #3
    kwame's Avatar
    kwame no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    24
    that thought has just come to me actually just as you posted. just about to give it a whirl. wish me luck.

  4. #4
    kwame's Avatar
    kwame no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    24
    panic over - back in. doh doh doh!!! :-)

  5. #5
    jdellasala's Avatar
    jdellasala no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    1,573
    Glad to hear it. You have no idea how often this issue comes up!
    .
    JerryD

  6. #6
    kwame's Avatar
    kwame no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    24
    thanks for the help. i now need to read up in the wifi section. my girlfriend recently got an 8320 but for the life of me can't get the wifi to work. sees and connects to the home router not a problem, but won't actually get in coverage even in the same room with the phone close to the router.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •