Results 1 to 5 of 5

Hello to you all. I bought a used 8800 and as soon as i got ... Blackberry 8800 & 8820 forum

  1. #1
    cowboyxx2000's Avatar
    cowboyxx2000 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    8

    Please help !!!!!

    Advertisement



    Hello to you all.

    I bought a used 8800 and as soon as i got the sim in it asked me for a password.
    In the instructions there is written i may disable it in the options menu. But there is a red lock next to the enabled. Theres also one next to the blutooh enable icon.

    Please please please, help me i'm getting mad looking for posts on the web.

    I'd also like to ask if there is anyway i can erase the vodafone screen saver when i switch off the phone.

    Best regards and thank to those which will help

    Claudio

  2. #2
    prudent89's Avatar
    prudent89 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    27
    Sounds like your used 8800 was on an enterprise server with a security policy. You can enter a password ten times (yes, it will be the wrong password) and after the tenth it will wipe itself of all data and ask that you enter a new password. Now you'll at least know the password. There are instructions on yanking out the policy somewhere in the forums. I'll see if I can find them and post a link. If you don't do this the policy may make you keep changing the password after a span of time - however the policy is set up.

  3. #3
    prudent89's Avatar
    prudent89 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    27
    I found these instructions in the forums. I cannot vow that they work.

    Removal of IT Policy Procedure
    This procedure worked on a group of Nextel 7520's I purchased and should work for many others...

    Step 1
    Ensure the Blackberry Desktop Manager is installed using Blackberry Internet Service, and not Blackberry Enterprise Server. If you are unsure, it would probably be a good idea to uninstall the Desktop Manager and start again.

    If you don't have the CD that came with your Blackberry, the Software can be downloaded here. Use "https and www"

    blackberry.com/Downloads/entry.do?code=A8BAA56554F96369AB93E4F3BB068C22


    Step 2
    Download the file policy.bin Use "http"
    users.tpg.com.au/dan1e1w/files/policy.bin

    Save it in your Blackberry installation directory
    C:\Program Files\Research In Motion\BlackBerry

    Step 3
    Wipe your Blackberry, creating a backup if necessary. Select Options/Security/Wipe on the Device.

    Step 4
    Close the Desktop Manager if it is open.

    Step 5
    From the Windows Start Menu select Run..., and at the prompt type regedit. In the tree on the left hand side, navigate to:

    HKEY_Current_Users\Software\Research In Motion\BlackBerry\PolicyManager

    Right-Click the Policy Manager Folder and select New/String Value. Name the value "Path". Now, Double-Click the Path Subkey and set Value Data to:
    C:\Program Files\Research In Motion\BlackBerry\policy.bin

    Step 6
    Open the Desktop Manager.

    Step 7
    Connect the Device.

    Verification
    Once complete, the Options/Security screen on your Blackberry should not contain references to an IT Policy, you should now be able to change all settings (including password prompts), and install Third Party Applications.

  4. #4
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    Cowboy
    Take a look at this from jdellasalla on clearing your IT Policy:

    http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com/blog.php?b=84

    Also if you are prepared to install 4.5 OS you can use JL_Cmder to remove IT policy completly....

    Good luck!
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  5. #5
    Ksea's Avatar
    Ksea no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    246bd335
    Posts
    65
    Quote Originally Posted by cowboyxx2000 View Post
    Hello to you all.

    I bought a used 8800 and as soon as i got the sim in it asked me for a password.
    In the instructions there is written i may disable it in the options menu. But there is a red lock next to the enabled. Theres also one next to the blutooh enable icon.

    Please please please, help me i'm getting mad looking for posts on the web.

    I'd also like to ask if there is anyway i can erase the vodafone screen saver when i switch off the phone.

    Best regards and thank to those which will help

    Claudio
    Did you try to enter your own pass word? Also when you go to desktop manager and enter your pass word as it asks, it just may remove the red X from both places. It did on mine once I typed the password in right. Good luck

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •