Results 1 to 13 of 13

Hello guys I just bought a new 8820 from ebay It is black but has ... Blackberry 8800 & 8820 forum

  1. #1
    mic6's Avatar
    mic6 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    55

    new 8820 question

    Advertisement



    Hello guys
    I just bought a new 8820 from ebay
    It is black but has the "world edition" writing on the face (like the 8830)
    Is that possible or I got the wrong phone?
    The sticker behind the battery says 8820

    Thanks

  2. #2
    calm_tiger's Avatar
    calm_tiger no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    1,418
    Almost sounds like someone on ebay pulled a fast one. The 8820 is black but there is nothing "world edition" about it. I'd dare say you actually have a 8830 sprint phone. That's just my opinion.
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  3. #3
    singk's Avatar
    singk no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    PIN/ID
    2437547A
    Posts
    43
    I have 8820 from AT&T and it's black. Even though it's not said "World Edition" on the phone itself, but I believe it is a World phone. At our company, we have deployed about 20 Blackberry 8820s to our employees in Germany, France, UK, China, India, and several more European countries with exception of Japan.

    If you look on AT&T website, it also shows World Phone logo.

    I am not sure what's the different between "World Edition" and "World Phone".
    Last edited by singk; 09-23-2008 at 11:29 PM.

  4. #4
    singk's Avatar
    singk no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    PIN/ID
    2437547A
    Posts
    43
    Quote Originally Posted by mic6 View Post
    Hello guys
    I just bought a new 8820 from ebay
    It is black but has the "world edition" writing on the face (like the 8830)
    Is that possible or I got the wrong phone?
    The sticker behind the battery says 8820

    Thanks
    What does it say when you go to Options --> About?

  5. #5
    mic6's Avatar
    mic6 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    55
    says 8820

  6. #6
    therock99's Avatar
    therock99 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    PIN/ID
    2568333E
    Posts
    38
    I have a 8820 from vodafone and there is no world about it.

  7. #7
    Ridicule's Avatar
    Ridicule no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    307
    The "World Phone" title comes from if the phone will work in most countries around the world. For GSM devices, this is if they support the 4 most common bands - 850/900/1800/1900. Previously GSM phones were made for Europe or NA only (you would need to get a loaner when crossing the pond).
    CDMA "World Phones" also have a GSM radio in them - so they can work in most of the world.

    Oh...and mic6 - if it says it's an 8820 in the About screen, then it's an 8820.

  8. #8
    calm_tiger's Avatar
    calm_tiger no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    1,418
    "World Phone" was the title given to Spint's 8830. The 8830 isn't a quad band phone as AT&T's 8820 which is technically more of a "world phone" than the 8830. But the world phone "branding" was only given to SPRINTS 8830.

  9. #9
    Ridicule's Avatar
    Ridicule no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    307
    No, calm_tiger - all phones which work on both sides of the pond are dubbed "world phones". (this wasn't exclusive to the 8830 - which, btw - Verizon pushed far more than Sprint ever did).
    Stenciling on the case doesn't make it an 8830. Now if it said Sprint or Verizon on it....

  10. #10
    aingaran's Avatar
    aingaran no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    26
    The world phone is the 8830.. GSM 900 and 1800 only. No 850 or 1900 (North American Band).

    The GSM Curves, Pearls, 8800 and 8820 are all quad band therefore, according to your theary they will all be "worldphones"?

    OP, What do you see when you go to Options then About?

    I have an 8800 and I put a Telus 8830 case on it.. So it does say Worldphone on mine.. So, just need to see what's actually inside the case.

  11. #11
    Ridicule's Avatar
    Ridicule no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    307
    aingaran, mic6 already answered that above - it's an 8820.

  12. #12
    aingaran's Avatar
    aingaran no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    26
    Quote Originally Posted by Ridicule View Post
    aingaran, mic6 already answered that above - it's an 8820.
    OOPS.. Blunder on my part.

  13. #13
    SassySweet's Avatar
    SassySweet no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    45
    look at the pin number
    if it starts with a 3 its CDMA Network
    if it starts with a 2 its AT&T GSM
    Thanks
    Sassy

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •