Results 1 to 10 of 10

I just arrived in chicago and discovered that my 8800 didn't change time zones. I ... Blackberry 8800 & 8820 forum

  1. #1
    silverfstop's Avatar
    silverfstop no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    28

    network time vs blackberry time

    Advertisement



    I just arrived in chicago and discovered that my 8800 didn't change time zones. I had to tell it that I was in the midwest and it then updated.

    Had I selected network time, would that problem be avoided? It would seem the network would know better where I was.

    Any advice? I'm a bit slow to tinker with anything involving date/time as my office is still having DST problems :-(

    Thanks

  2. #2
    cliffr39's Avatar
    cliffr39 no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    317ASKME
    Posts
    3,064

    Re: network time vs blackberry time

    network time pulls the time from the cell tower - that is how I have mine so I know when Cingular thinks it is 9pm Blackberry time isn't how my night/weekend minutes are billed ;-)
    ~A BlackBerry without a data plan is just a berry without the crack.~
    Links to common questions.

  3. #3
    nextelman197's Avatar
    nextelman197 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    10

    Re: network time vs blackberry time

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~have you tried to power cycle your phone. I know that works for me on Verizon

  4. #4
    joeperrin212's Avatar
    joeperrin212 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    245DA445
    Posts
    658

    Re: network time vs blackberry time

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    Yeah, network time should fix that.

  5. #5
    zeke3elevn's Avatar
    zeke3elevn no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    23e8886e
    Posts
    6

    Re: network time vs blackberry time

    Use the RIM DST Patch it will fix it.

    http://www.blackberry.com/dst2007

  6. #6
    DCookSta's Avatar
    DCookSta no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    312C4157
    Posts
    2,331

    Re: network time vs blackberry time

    Installing the patch will only help him if his network time is off by an hour. It won't help in changing time zones while set to blackberry time.

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  7. #7
    MooseBerry's Avatar
    MooseBerry no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    59

    Lightbulb Re: network time vs blackberry time

    Quote Originally Posted by cliffr39
    network time pulls the time from the cell tower - that is how I have mine so I know when Cingular thinks it is 9pm Blackberry time isn't how my night/weekend minutes are billed ;-)
    That's a good point. I hadn't thought of it, but I switched mine.
    My BB History: 7510>7520>7100>7100t>7130c>8700c>8100>8300>8310>81 30>8330>9530>9630

  8. #8
    nurseraj's Avatar
    nurseraj no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    24318A3C
    Posts
    8

    Re: network time vs blackberry time

    downloading 2007 patch did the trick..!

  9. #9
    absolved's Avatar
    absolved no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    295

    Re: network time vs blackberry time

    I wish they would fix that! It sucks having to tell the BB what to do...I'm from Hawaii and when I was on a road trip I had no idea when the heck I was supposed to change the time on my phone! O.o

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  10. #10
    absolved's Avatar
    absolved no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    295

    Re: network time vs blackberry time

    Errr...I meant to say when I was on a road trip on the mainland that is, not used to having to change the time and there's no such thing as DST here.

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •