Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 57

I have had a problem in the past several days ... about three or four ... Blackberry 8800 & 8820 forum

  1. #1
    PENorwood's Avatar
    PENorwood no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    30501289
    Posts
    72

    Thumbs down Losing EVDO connection

    Advertisement



    I have had a problem in the past several days ... about three or four times a day my 8830 loses its EVDO connection ... goes from 1XEV to 1xev and sometimes just 1x ... I know I am in an area where EVDO is not a problem and after I pull the battery it comes back with no problem.

    This is really beginning to annoy me ... any thoughts on what is wrong or what I can do to solve this?

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    PDUB204's Avatar
    PDUB204 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    31096895
    Posts
    562

    Re: Losing EVDO connection

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~i think it may be a network(rim) problem or an 8830 problem. I have the same issue but my treo sitting next to it maimtains 1x. Th( is the reason they switched my phone out once

  3. #3
    PENorwood's Avatar
    PENorwood no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    30501289
    Posts
    72

    Re: Losing EVDO connection

    I don't think it is network related because if I pull the battery it works again ...

  4. #4
    vlbryant3's Avatar
    vlbryant3 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    32c2216d
    Posts
    12

    Re: Losing EVDO connection

    mine does the same, trying to figure out why...

  5. #5
    woodi68's Avatar
    woodi68 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    woodi68
    Posts
    660

    Re: Losing EVDO connection

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~ There have been lots of similar posts to this simply regarding the service bars and levels constantly changing and from what I've seen and experienced it's not REALLY a problem of the service going away. Do you experience actual service variations or is it just because the screen says so? Basically don't rely on the screen if you have good spped and coverage is adaquate in the area.

    This is a much complained about issue and has been discussed thoroughly and it appears that it's a common VZW issue and not simply device related.

    Hope that helps.

  6. #6
    cp6169's Avatar
    cp6169 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    PIN/ID
    3056468b
    Posts
    14,661

    Re: Losing EVDO connection

    This is an 8830 issue and hopefully will be resolved with a newer OS. I am for the first time having this issue on a cdma BB.

  7. #7
    woodi68's Avatar
    woodi68 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    woodi68
    Posts
    660

    Re: Losing EVDO connection

    It used to happen a lot to me on my 7130e.

  8. #8
    cp6169's Avatar
    cp6169 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    PIN/ID
    3056468b
    Posts
    14,661

    Re: Losing EVDO connection

    Never on my 8703e. Its happening nightly to me, and many of the users Ive sold them to. I hope to solve this problem soon.

  9. #9
    ElCamino's Avatar
    ElCamino no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    152

    Re: Losing EVDO connection

    I wonder if it has anything to do where the Blackberry was made in? I have seen some made in Canada and the one's I got are made in Mexico.

  10. #10
    PENorwood's Avatar
    PENorwood no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    30501289
    Posts
    72

    Re: Losing EVDO connection

    Hopefully this gets solved soon because it is becoming irritating ... I did a wipe and it seemed to make no difference at all.

  11. #11
    chevy_flo's Avatar
    chevy_flo no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    8

    Re: Losing EVDO connection

    yea ive got no clue

    just got my blackberry recently still learning how to use it
    Last edited by chevy_flo; 08-06-2007 at 04:10 PM. Reason: Automerged.

  12. #12
    chevy_flo's Avatar
    chevy_flo no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    8

    Re: Losing EVDO connection

    test test test

    finally last post so i can now pm

    i think last one
    Last edited by chevy_flo; 08-06-2007 at 04:13 PM. Reason: Automerged.

  13. #13
    vlbryant3's Avatar
    vlbryant3 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    32c2216d
    Posts
    12

    Re: Losing EVDO connection

    on my sprint 8830 i loose complete signal and cannot do any data functions or phone calls.....

  14. #14
    somacs's Avatar
    somacs no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    9

    Re: Losing EVDO connection

    on my sprint 8830 i loose complete signal and cannot do any data functions or phone calls.....
    I just sent two Sprint 8703e's back because Sprint could not fix the same issue. We placed a Verizon and Sprint device side by side in my office and called both. The Verizon phone would ring whereas the Sprint would not. The Verizon device would dial out and of course the Sprint searched for service until it was tired. The Verizon device was showing EVDO and the Sprint device was showing 1X.

    Your problem could be entirely different, but it took Sprint 30 days to get the EVDO connection fixed on the same 8703e's and they never could figure out why the voice wouldn't work.

    Verizon may cost a bit more, but I haven't experienced any aggravation with their Blackberry devices.
    Trewtipe suks (Former 7100i user)

  15. #15
    lovellbird's Avatar
    lovellbird no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    365

    Re: Losing EVDO connection

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    My CDMA 8830 loses the data connection (goes from 1X to 1x) daily between 2 and 3PM. I have been instructed to go into the programming screen and re-input the SIP password that keeps disappearing. It then resets the device and I have cpnnection back a few minutes later. I would definitely like to know of a permanant fix!

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •