Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 31

Depending on your signal, it can be different too, GPRS or EDGE?... Blackberry 8800 & 8820 forum

  1. #16
    sn1p3r's Avatar
    sn1p3r no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me
    Posts
    2,305

    Re : is your GPS slow??

    Advertisement



    Depending on your signal, it can be different too, GPRS or EDGE?
    I'm french canadian so I can also help you in french, just PM me
    UNLESS it is for a BETA OS, it's at your own risk and I won't support it
    Sn1p3r

  2. #17
    Dubdub's Avatar
    Dubdub no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    23FEFDC4
    Posts
    653

    Re: is your GPS slow??

    It also depends on how far away you are from the last time GPS was used.

  3. #18
    smomus's Avatar
    smomus no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    248B113c
    Posts
    167

    Re: is your GPS slow??

    Quote Originally Posted by zipped
    Just a fyi, even the external pucks take about 50+ seconds to reconcile location when turned on.

    Yep!
    SMO ;-)

  4. #19
    jonny8ball's Avatar
    jonny8ball no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    1

    Re: is your GPS slow??

    why do I not see a menu option to refresh my GPS? I have the 8830 from Verizon.

  5. #20
    barbuser's Avatar
    barbuser no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    Pin Me
    Posts
    173

    Re: is your GPS slow??

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~when and how often should I refresh my gps setting in the option menu? What is the reason for the refresh? The map apps find my current location?

  6. #21
    akim's Avatar
    akim no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    12

    Re: is your GPS slow??

    What u have to do is go to option >advanced > GPS and click the menu button and select refresh GPS

  7. #22
    barbuser's Avatar
    barbuser no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    Pin Me
    Posts
    173

    Re: is your GPS slow??

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~understood. But why? How often?

  8. #23
    kwame's Avatar
    kwame no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    24

    Re: is your GPS slow??

    my gps is pretty fast here in the uk. i am currently on a 30day (now 27day) trial of telenav and it works great. voice capability which re-routes you within 30-40seconds if you take a different route to what it tells you. also works great with Yahoo Go directions, but no voice capability with this one.

  9. #24
    HdPower's Avatar
    HdPower no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    11

    Re: is your GPS slow??

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

    Telenav is pretty quick.. google maps is a tad bit slower.

  10. #25
    motogq's Avatar
    motogq no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    23F635E7
    Posts
    29

    Re: is your GPS slow??

    I think it depends on the app. Google maps takes forever to load & locate. Yahoo! Go only takes a few seconds to startup & locate.

  11. #26
    cypher's Avatar
    cypher no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    876-5309
    Posts
    111

    Re: is your GPS slow??

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~ try MapQuest. I think its stil free for Sprint customers. Go to their site and look for the link. I think I downloaded the 8700 version. All they need is a phone number to send u text message and u have to follow the link.

    It has voice directions like telenav.

  12. #27
    davidjohnson's Avatar
    davidjohnson no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    30666B3D
    Posts
    9

    Re: is your GPS slow??

    Just got an 8830 a week ago, & the initial sat grab takes a few minutes here, but once its locked its very stable... Mind you it has been cloudy & raining most of this week - like satellite TV, weather has a big impact.

    Not bad as a bonus function, but don't expect the same initial connect performance as a dedicated unit.

  13. #28
    takeshi's Avatar
    takeshi no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    2,305

    Re: is your GPS slow??

    Quote Originally Posted by barbuser
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~when and how often should I refresh my gps setting in the option menu? What is the reason for the refresh? The map apps find my current location?
    No need unless you just want to see your current latitude/longitude. Your GPS app will refresh as it needs to.
    Quote Originally Posted by motogq
    I think it depends on the app. Google maps takes forever to load & locate. Yahoo! Go only takes a few seconds to startup & locate.
    BB Maps has been the worst in my experience. I recommend Telenav if you're not put off by the cost. Mapquest is pretty decent and even if you don't have a Sprint 8703e you can download and run it. Works pretty well on my 8800 and I'd place it second to Telenav.

  14. #29
    keigan's Avatar
    keigan no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    11

    Re: is your GPS slow??

    does gps work w/o being in service, or do i have to pick a plan already and subscribe in order to use gps? how do maps work? do i have to download/install them, are they preloaded or do they download via gps sat? im new to gps, so after this post i'll be checking if there's a guide on this site. thx 4 answers in advance!
    Last edited by keigan; 07-16-2007 at 02:09 PM.

  15. #30
    Crewdawg257's Avatar
    Crewdawg257 no está en línea BES Pro
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    248

    Re: is your GPS slow??

    The speed that the GPS locks in has to do with alogorithims built into the device, some are better than others. These devices usually remember where you last were and attempts to utilize satalites from that location. If you have moved significantly the device will work its way out to other satalites from your last known location. It seems the BB 8800 does not remember where it was after a battery pull, thus increasing the lock time significantly.

    Some providers are programing the GPS to first triangulate your position from cell antennas first, then use that data to lock the GPS.
    --
    I suspect that Microsoft Access is nothing but Microsoft Excel with a VBScript wrapper.
    - Unknown

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •