Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 37

.......It appears you can safely remove the .cod files associated with Voice Activated Dialing and ... Blackberry 8800 & 8820 forum

  1. #1
    ma077146's Avatar
    ma077146 no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    3019F3E6
    Posts
    945

    If You Don't Use Voice Activated Dialing.....

    Advertisement



    .......It appears you can safely remove the .cod files associated with Voice Activated Dialing and free up some more memory on the device.

    I printed out a directory of the files on my device and saw the four .cod files for VAD. I don't use this feature, so I couldn't see allowing it's files to take up space on my 8830. You can open the BlackBerry.alx file in Notepad to edit it. First, make a back up copy of the file!

    I deleted the names of the following from my BlackBerry.alx file:

    net_rim_vad.cod
    net_rim_vad_resource.cod
    net_rim_vad_resource__en.cod
    net_rim_vad_engine_resource__en_US.cod *

    Once you save the modified file, run the Desktop Manager and it's Application Loader, and the files will be removed. You won't even see the little "Sorry Sally" icon (my name for her, no offense intended to any Sally's of the world!).

    This freed up around 600K of memory.

    If you try this and don't like it, restore your BlackBerry.alx to the older version, run the Application Loader, and it will reinstall the .cod files.

    *User assumes all responsibility for performing this procedure.
    Last edited by ma077146; 07-22-2007 at 09:55 AM.

  2. #2
    trickynick's Avatar
    trickynick no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    20D2CA11
    Posts
    116

    Re: If You Don't Use Voice Activated Dialing.....

    good write up. I will have to try this out. I like the name you gave her. I named the voice on my navigation system Sally.

  3. #3
    cp6169's Avatar
    cp6169 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    PIN/ID
    3056468b
    Posts
    14,661

    Re: If You Don't Use Voice Activated Dialing.....

    For those that dont use VAD this is good. Thanks.

  4. #4
    footang's Avatar
    footang no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    1

    Re: If You Don't Use Voice Activated Dialing.....

    Greetings,

    I have the BB 8820 running on BES, It doesnt seem I can do this. Where exactly can I find the .ALX file? Also, in my app loader i have no options to remove any BB preloaded software.

    (Pic atached)
    plugged.net/images/bb.GIF

    I assume its a securty setting somewhere. Anyone have any ideas?

    Thanks,
    Fk

  5. #5
    tomorrowneverkn's Avatar
    tomorrowneverkn no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    87

    Re: If You Don't Use Voice Activated Dialing.....

    give sally a chance... sure her ideas on pronounciation are a little 'wacked-out'
    but she's eager to please & doesn't spend all my money...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    ********
    Posts
    394

    Re: If You Don't Use Voice Activated Dialing.....

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~no sally for me, I'm kicking her off my bb8830 today. Since I deleted built in themes and other non-essential sw using javaloader, I will use this tool for Sally. Thanks for the tip. Youy got my +

  7. #7
    Lowrider's Avatar
    Lowrider no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    Just Ask
    Posts
    1,418

    Re: If You Don't Use Voice Activated Dialing.....

    Good write up!
    -----------------------------------
    Thx a lot!
    Low
    OSU Buckeye's # 1

  8. #8
    97FZJ80's Avatar
    97FZJ80 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    PIN/ID
    32c0bc33
    Posts
    1

    Re: If You Don't Use Voice Activated Dialing.....

    This thread is very helpful for guys like me who hide the voicemail icon and will never use it. I would rather recover its memory for other useful files or apps. space.

    I highly recommend this... +++

  9. #9
    crmcchesney's Avatar
    crmcchesney no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    5

    Re: If You Don't Use Voice Activated Dialing.....

    Question? Im getting an 8830 to demo for my company can those files be moved to an SD mem card instead, and still become functional when plugged into the phone?

  10. #10
    DaddyFizzle's Avatar
    DaddyFizzle no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    28A34994
    Posts
    276

    Re: If You Don't Use Voice Activated Dialing.....

    Thanks...I'll give it a shot!

  11. #11
    stranjal7's Avatar
    stranjal7 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    #ASK#
    Posts
    298

    Re: If You Don't Use Voice Activated Dialing.....

    Can deleting this function in any way hinder the functionality of using a Bluetooth head set? ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  12. #12
    markfpatrick's Avatar
    markfpatrick no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    16

    Re: If You Don't Use Voice Activated Dialing.....

    Does anyone know how I can manually dial telephone numbers on my 8830. Currently I am only able to dial use Voice Dialing. THANKS

  13. #13
    Izzyontheeyes's Avatar
    Izzyontheeyes no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    72

    Re: If You Don't Use Voice Activated Dialing.....

    Hi, so I finally found the BB .alx file and changed it, then saved it under a new name (BlackBerry1.alx)
    When I try to load it through DM, it tells me no other apps were found. I searched the forums and can't find the answer. Please help!

  14. #14
    Prorock's Avatar
    Prorock no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    392

    Re: If You Don't Use Voice Activated Dialing.....

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~It should remove it if you keep on going.

  15. #15
    Izzyontheeyes's Avatar
    Izzyontheeyes no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    72

    Re: If You Don't Use Voice Activated Dialing.....

    What do you mean by keep on going? It pops up a window and I have to hit OK othersiwe it doesn't more to the next screen

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •