Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 27

Hi all, Finally after a few hours I'm starting to get the hang of this ... Blackberry 8800 & 8820 forum

  1. #1
    cookcrack's Avatar
    cookcrack no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    45

    GPS on 8800 from Cingular

    Advertisement



    Hi all,

    Finally after a few hours I'm starting to get the hang of this I've got my movies, mp3s, vnc, ssh, email, aim, games and even put BB maps on it! Oh it's also a cool phone lol. It even tethered easily to my laptop. I was worried about the Cingular service but so far it's better than Verizon in my area. I'll write a full review soon, just at work right now.

    My question is, I can't get the GPS to work. Is this a feature I need to buy from Cingular? When I put BB maps I can get directions but it won't locate a GPS signal. I go to Options->Advanced->GPS and refresh but it finds nothing. I've tried this inside/outside.

    __update:__ i do have bluetooth enabled, i dont know if that makes a difference?

    Any ideas?
    Uri

  2. #2
    GaBulldog's Avatar
    GaBulldog no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    145

    Re: GPS on 8800 from Cingular

    cookcrack:

    have you tried looking on the BB web page?

    http://www.blackberry8800.com/function/features/gps.jsp

    It says that as long as you have a map application, such as BB Maps, you should be able to "view your current location with greater accuracy".

    Have you tried running BB Maps with your BT disabled?

  3. #3
    cookcrack's Avatar
    cookcrack no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    45

    Re: GPS on 8800 from Cingular

    Quote Originally Posted by GaBulldog
    cookcrack:

    have you tried looking on the BB web page?

    http://www.blackberry8800.com/function/features/gps.jsp

    It says that as long as you have a map application, such as BB Maps, you should be able to "view your current location with greater accuracy".

    Have you tried running BB Maps with your BT disabled?
    Yes, the BB Maps application tells me it cannot connect to GPS.
    I have not tried with BT disabled...can both not function at once?

  4. #4
    trollicus's Avatar
    trollicus no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    2463D44A
    Posts
    42

    Re: GPS on 8800 from Cingular

    I have it working through BB Maps, but have not enabled BT. I will try to enable and see if it still works.

    Edit: OK well I just enabled BT, and went to my GPS options and it refreshed instantly.

  5. #5
    Amahk's Avatar
    Amahk no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    242B3987
    Posts
    169

    Re: GPS on 8800 from Cingular

    Well I had a very similar problem and I called Cingular support. He made me check my tcp settings to make sure they were correct(they were) then I did a battery pull. Put it back in and while he was checking something else it just started working. I personally think it was how long I spent outsides but who knows. There was a lot of cloud cover and I figured that might have something to do with it.

    So 1st question. Are you outside? It sounds stupid but it's gotta be asked. How long are you trying for? Stay outside for a while. Luckily I was on the phone so the time passed quickly but I'm sure I was out there for at least 15 mins. Now it makes a connection in less than 10 seconds. Make sure BB maps is installed also. I connected with BB maps 1st with GPS just running and me on the phone.

    Hope that helps

  6. #6
    cookcrack's Avatar
    cookcrack no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    45

    Re: GPS on 8800 from Cingular

    Quote Originally Posted by Amahk
    Well I had a very similar problem and I called Cingular support. He made me check my tcp settings to make sure they were correct(they were) then I did a battery pull. Put it back in and while he was checking something else it just started working. I personally think it was how long I spent outsides but who knows. There was a lot of cloud cover and I figured that might have something to do with it.

    So 1st question. Are you outside? It sounds stupid but it's gotta be asked. How long are you trying for? Stay outside for a while. Luckily I was on the phone so the time passed quickly but I'm sure I was out there for at least 15 mins. Now it makes a connection in less than 10 seconds. Make sure BB maps is installed also. I connected with BB maps 1st with GPS just running and me on the phone.

    Hope that helps
    Okay so...
    1) What are your TCP settings
    2) I was outside for maybe 5 minutes
    3) You're saying: go outside, load BB maps, "Turn on GPS" and wait 10-15 minutes?

    Uri

  7. #7
    Amahk's Avatar
    Amahk no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    242B3987
    Posts
    169

    Re: GPS on 8800 from Cingular

    Sorry I took so long to reply.
    The normal TCP settings that they have in this forum:

    Cingular (March 05)
    APN: wap.cingular
    Username for APN: wap@cingulargprs.com
    Password for APN: cingular1

    make sure the username is in all caps too.
    What the data guy was telling me is that GPS goes through GPRS, no idea if that's true or not.

    And yea stay outside a bit longer. It worked for me I guess. It's not going to work inside for the most part and here was really cloudy. Just my 2 cents I guess. I'm not absolutely sure what did it but it's working now.

  8. #8
    cookcrack's Avatar
    cookcrack no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    45

    Re: GPS on 8800 from Cingular

    Quote Originally Posted by Amahk
    Sorry I took so long to reply.
    The normal TCP settings that they have in this forum:

    Cingular (March 05)
    APN: wap.cingular
    Username for APN: wap@cingulargprs.com
    Password for APN: cingular1

    make sure the username is in all caps too.
    What the data guy was telling me is that GPS goes through GPRS, no idea if that's true or not.

    And yea stay outside a bit longer. It worked for me I guess. It's not going to work inside for the most part and here was really cloudy. Just my 2 cents I guess. I'm not absolutely sure what did it but it's working now.
    Thanks, I had wap.cingulargprs.com (all caps) maybe that's the problem. Also, does enabling bluetooth prevent it from working??

  9. #9
    Amahk's Avatar
    Amahk no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    242B3987
    Posts
    169

    Re: GPS on 8800 from Cingular

    nope works fine with BT for me.
    Tell me if it works for you.

  10. #10
    jerrycrabb's Avatar
    jerrycrabb no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    AskMe4It
    Posts
    739

    Re: GPS on 8800 from Cingular

    It's a shame that it's this confusing to use. AND YOU HAVE TO BE OUTSIDE? Thats going to be a huge blow to business who plan on keeping track of employees.
    Build a man a fire and he shall be warm for the night. Catch a man on fire and he shall be warm for the rest of his life!

  11. #11
    tcrawford's Avatar
    tcrawford no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    21

    Re: GPS on 8800 from Cingular

    Quote Originally Posted by Amahk
    Sorry I took so long to reply.
    The normal TCP settings that they have in this forum:

    Cingular (March 05)
    APN: wap.cingular
    Username for APN: wap@cingulargprs.com
    Password for APN: cingular1

    make sure the username is in all caps too.
    Sorry Amahk - I am a little confused.

    Shouldn't the APN be wap.cingular.com? You didn't include the .com above.
    Also, are you saying that the username (wap@cingulargprs.com) needs to be in all caps?

    I checked my TCP and the APN was set to internet.com and the username and password fields were blank (I am on corp BES btw).

  12. #12
    cookcrack's Avatar
    cookcrack no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    45

    Re: GPS on 8800 from Cingular

    It worked on my drive home, told me what road I was on and the speed. It doesn't work inside... :-(

  13. #13
    tcrawford's Avatar
    tcrawford no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    21

    Re: GPS on 8800 from Cingular

    Quote Originally Posted by cookcrack
    It worked on my drive home, told me what road I was on and the speed. It doesn't work inside... :-(
    I got mine to work inside - I just had to rip off the roof so my BB could see the satellites.

  14. #14
    jerrycrabb's Avatar
    jerrycrabb no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    AskMe4It
    Posts
    739

    Re: GPS on 8800 from Cingular

    That's cool that it gives your current speed
    Build a man a fire and he shall be warm for the night. Catch a man on fire and he shall be warm for the rest of his life!

  15. #15
    palmtreepimp's Avatar
    palmtreepimp no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    23DBB65B
    Posts
    6

    Re: GPS on 8800 from Cingular

    I use Telenav and it works just fine! even inside! The service is $9.99 month thru cingular and with the 8800, you dont need the extra gps reciever. i havent tried bb maps yet but will today

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •