My voice dialing seems to fail intermittantly (about 50% failure rate). The screen will show ... Blackberry 8800 & 8820 forum

csfn90 no está en línea Stack level 1
    PIN/ID
    32bebfa8

Post Failure of Voice Dialing

Advertisement

My voice dialing seems to fail intermittantly (about 50% failure rate). The screen will show that voice dialing is initializing but never progresses requiring me to cancel voice dialing. Is there anyone having a similar problem? If so, how do you fix it?
    Thanks.

tomorrowneverkn no está en línea Stack level 3

Re: Failure of Voice Dialing

I find if there is any ambient noise present, the voice dialling is spotty... even the radio down low can effect it.

PIN/ID
    32bebfa8

Does ambient noise effect initialization of voice dialing or just performance of the program once initialized?

PDXOR no está en línea Stack level 2
    I'm no expert, but the issue is a familiar one with my 8800 (ATT). The incredibly slow initialization crops up occasionally, then seems to go away for days or weeks. I had never considered ambient noise as a a factor, but thinking back it seems to fit. I can't remember that symptom happening when I use my (noise canceling) Jawbone headset.It usually happens when I'm in the car without the headset.

Sadly, though, the slow initialization is only one part of the 8800's voice dialing problem. Mine really struggles to come up with the correct contact from my book. You'll find other users with similar problems in a couple earlier pinstack threads.

I suspect one part of my problem is the large number of contacts in my address book (about 2200). Even after initializing, it can take a fulll minute or two to come up with a result. And the correct number frequently isn't even in the list of 3 that the 8800 finds.