Results 1 to 8 of 8

Hi Guys, quick question as above. Just need to know if this is possible? Cheers, ... Blackberry 8800 & 8820 forum

  1. #1
    markmjh's Avatar
    markmjh no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    30

    Can you update firmware without a sim in the phone?

    Advertisement



    Hi Guys,
    quick question as above. Just need to know if this is possible?

    Cheers,
    Mark

  2. #2
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116
    You should be able to do that - never tried it. Give it a shot - you'll know right away whether it'll work but I can't see why it wouldn't.
    For every complex problem there is a solution, that is simple, neat, .....and wrong! (H. L. Mencken) jblackfish(at)pinstack(dot)com

  3. #3
    reddrvgon's Avatar
    reddrvgon no está en línea Stack level 8
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    6,417
    Definately works jblack... Done it several times that way... No issues at all...
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  4. #4
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116
    Quote Originally Posted by reddrvgon View Post
    Definately works jblack... Done it several times that way... No issues at all...
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~
    That's what I thought - why would a SIM be required - if you can browse the internet (wi-fi) without a SIM card why would you need one to upgrade?
    For every complex problem there is a solution, that is simple, neat, .....and wrong! (H. L. Mencken) jblackfish(at)pinstack(dot)com

  5. #5
    reddrvgon's Avatar
    reddrvgon no está en línea Stack level 8
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    6,417
    Well, you know how older phones were (non bb)... They wouldn't even boot up without a sim... I guess that's how such a wuestion can come to mind...
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  6. #6
    markmjh's Avatar
    markmjh no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    30
    Cheers folks.
    Yes it does work just fine.
    All sorted now

  7. #7
    reddrvgon's Avatar
    reddrvgon no está en línea Stack level 8
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    6,417
    Good deal...
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  8. #8
    chokem's Avatar
    chokem no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    nada
    Posts
    11,481
    FYI for anyone reading this. Its advisable to remove your media card if you have one when when upgrading your OS. There seem to be many problems if you leave it in during the upgrade. Just a reminder.
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •