Results 1 to 7 of 7

hello, i have a 64MB microsd and it shows up in my desktop manager as ... Blackberry 8800 & 8820 forum

  1. #1
    pinpoint's Avatar
    pinpoint no está en línea Themes Pro
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask me.
    Posts
    625

    BB reporting wrong size 4 microSD

    Advertisement



    hello,

    i have a 64MB microsd and it shows up in my desktop manager as only 29MB. Whats up with that? I have nothing stored in it and also did a format in windows while BB was docked. still reports 29MB instead of 64MB.

    what is happening here?
    dcrin3.com
    One Second Coming
    1s-
    Tour - 9/6/9 | ~3pm

  2. #2
    onlindis10's Avatar
    onlindis10 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    3019477D
    Posts
    746

    Re: BB reporting wrong size 4 microSD

    don't know, did you try formating it through your blackberry?

  3. #3
    Dirty Cash's Avatar
    Dirty Cash no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    3G
    Posts
    1,566
    Quote Originally Posted by onlindis10
    don't know, did you try formating it through your blackberry?
    Formatting thru your BB just might do the trick! For many devices that use removable media, it's always best to format using the device that will use the removable media.

  4. #4
    pinpoint's Avatar
    pinpoint no está en línea Themes Pro
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask me.
    Posts
    625

    Re: BB reporting wrong size 4 microSD

    sorry, i was at fault and i discovered it was a 32MB card. i must be sleeping.
    Last edited by pinpoint; 07-08-2007 at 11:17 PM.
    dcrin3.com
    One Second Coming
    1s-
    Tour - 9/6/9 | ~3pm

  5. #5
    davidjohnson's Avatar
    davidjohnson no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    30666B3D
    Posts
    9

    Re: BB reporting wrong size 4 microSD

    What are you expecting to get done w/32 or even 64 MB anyhow...

    Not trying to dis, just loaded in a 2 GB unit, more for media, but does the expanded memory also hold unit memory tasks & (hopefully) applications? I'd been a dedicated Palm guy until 18 months ago - & this new 8830 is my first expandable memory unit...
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  6. #6
    PENorwood's Avatar
    PENorwood no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    30501289
    Posts
    72

    Re: BB reporting wrong size 4 microSD

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~sorry. The microSD only holds media files. No apps.

  7. #7
    takeshi's Avatar
    takeshi no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    2,305

    Re: BB reporting wrong size 4 microSD

    Certain 3rd party apps use if for storage as well.

    Quote Originally Posted by davidjohnson
    What are you expecting to get done w/32 or even 64 MB anyhow...
    It's not much but it's better than 0. Not everyone has the same needs/wants as you. 32 or 64 could hold a good number of BB resolution photos or ringtones.

    Personally, I'm moving to 4GB as 2GB isn't enough for me. Of course, YMMV. There are a lot of BB users who don't even have a microSD slot.
    Last edited by takeshi; 07-14-2007 at 09:49 PM.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •