Results 1 to 11 of 11

All, I live in the Bay Area, CA and most of my contacts are in ... Blackberry 8800 & 8820 forum

  1. #1
    al78918's Avatar
    al78918 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    9

    BB8800 510 area code freeze?

    Advertisement



    All,

    I live in the Bay Area, CA and most of my contacts are in the "510" area code. 80% of the time when I dial the "5" and "1" of the area code in succession from the Home screen, the phone locks up on the "1" touch-tone. The only way to stop it is a battery pull. Anyone else have a similar issue? I only have one third party app, the iBerry theme which I bought from Handango. Thanks.

  2. #2
    al78918's Avatar
    al78918 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    9

    Re: BB8800 510 area code freeze?

    I should also point out that I get this error pop-up message:

    "java.lang.arrayindexoutobounds exception"

    I tried a "data wipe" and even "SureWipe" to delete any third party modules/apps but still no luck.

  3. #3
    tessitori's Avatar
    tessitori no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    271

    Re: BB8800 510 area code freeze?

    I also live in the bay area and have had no problems dialing any number ...

  4. #4
    al78918's Avatar
    al78918 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    9

    Re: BB8800 510 area code freeze?

    -Thanks for the feedback Tessitori.

    Hmmm...I wonder if it's an OS software bug. I disabled the "dial from home screen" option and tried dialing a "510" number from the "phone" screen. It didn't lock up. This makes me think that the sequence from switching to the phone app from the home screen in combination with pressing a "5" then a "1", locks up the phone. This workaround is more of a "Band-Aid" though, than a solution.

  5. #5
    DaddyFizzle's Avatar
    DaddyFizzle no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    28A34994
    Posts
    276

    Re: BB8800 510 area code freeze?

    I live in SF and make calls to 510 with no problems. Sounds like a OS issue to me.

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  6. #6
    al78918's Avatar
    al78918 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    9

    Re: BB8800 510 area code freeze?

    UPDATE: OK, I tried another experiment. I wiped my device clean and didn't sync anything. No third party apps installed either. I tested the "5-1-0" sequence from the home screen ten times and everything worked fine. THEN, I synced my personal data with PocketMac and decided to test it again. In TWO tries, I was able to make it hang. Coinidence?

  7. #7
    cynamicny's Avatar
    cynamicny no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    PIN/ID
    23F282DC
    Posts
    41

    Re: BB8800 510 area code freeze?

    I've being having the same issue for a couple of months (not always tough!), I even got a replacement phone from ATT because it was still under warranty. Is not the sequence 51 what causes the problem, I had that happened while dialing many other sequences. It should be an OS bug!

  8. #8
    al78918's Avatar
    al78918 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    9

    Re: BB8800 510 area code freeze?

    Cynamicny,

    Are you using a Mac or Windows computer when you synch? If you're using Windows, then we can safely say it's a BB OS issue.

  9. #9
    cynamicny's Avatar
    cynamicny no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    PIN/ID
    23F282DC
    Posts
    41

    Re: BB8800 510 area code freeze?

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~I'm ussing windows.

  10. #10
    al78918's Avatar
    al78918 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    9

    Re: BB8800 510 area code freeze?

    Ah, so it's not Pocketmac causing the error. Thanks for the confirmation. It's definitely an OS bug. AT&T and BB better jump on it!

  11. #11
    cherrichiodo's Avatar
    cherrichiodo no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    ATA
    Posts
    17,164

    Re: BB8800 510 area code freeze?

    al - you running the latest OS for your device?

    bay area here too, with a 510 and no issues

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •