Results 1 to 7 of 7

My 8800 just barely picks up the AT&T signal and keeps losing the signal frequently. ... Blackberry 8800 & 8820 forum

  1. #1
    Fiasco's Avatar
    Fiasco no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    20D434D0
    Posts
    151

    8800 signal issue.

    Advertisement



    My 8800 just barely picks up the AT&T signal and keeps losing the signal frequently. Meanwhile the same SIM in my 8700 picks up perfect EDGE signal.

    Is the 8800 dying on me, or is there anything I can do to improve the signal reception on the 8800?

    The 8800 is running OS 4.2.1.79 at the moment.
    "Be fair. Forgive. Be inspired. Inspire others."

  2. #2
    x14's Avatar
    x14
    x14 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    32
    Try reloading the software.

    btw: the latest software is 4.2.1.108.

  3. #3
    Fiasco's Avatar
    Fiasco no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    20D434D0
    Posts
    151
    Tried that... my 8800 is now a coaster. All I get now is a dead screen, and the led flashing red. It flashes twice each time.

    This has not been my day.

    EDIT: I ran the apploader... can't believe it's been so long since I did a BB OS upgrade, I had forgotten that you can run the apploader even if DM doesn't recognize the device. Looks like it may be coming back to life... booting up with the hourglass at the moment.
    Last edited by Fiasco; 03-15-2008 at 10:56 PM. Reason: Update.
    "Be fair. Forgive. Be inspired. Inspire others."

  4. #4
    Fiasco's Avatar
    Fiasco no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    20D434D0
    Posts
    151
    Ok,

    Done installing and it's not the OS. The device itself is the problem. I'm going to see if at&t will do anything to resolve this problem tomorrow.
    "Be fair. Forgive. Be inspired. Inspire others."

  5. #5
    dtx's Avatar
    dtx
    dtx no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    PIN/ID
    207B3A96
    Posts
    640
    they should cover that under warranty.
    good luck!
    --
    DTx
    PIN: 207B3A96
    Bold 9000
    Rogers BIS
    OS 4.6.0.150


  6. #6
    Fiasco's Avatar
    Fiasco no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    20D434D0
    Posts
    151
    Quote Originally Posted by dtx View Post
    they should cover that under warranty.
    good luck!
    Yeah, I figure they'll just swap it out when I go in to the at&t device support center tomorrow. It's still under warranty, by that I mean it's at&t branded so I know I got it less than a year ago.
    "Be fair. Forgive. Be inspired. Inspire others."

  7. #7
    Fiasco's Avatar
    Fiasco no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    20D434D0
    Posts
    151
    Ok. At&t say that somehow the antenna wire became loose inside the device.

    Warranty exchange sorted that out.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •