I am new to BB, so bear with me on this... I bought a T-Mobile ... Blackberry 8800 & 8820 forum

justindavies no está en línea Stack level 1

8800 on T-Mobile UK

I am new to BB, so bear with me on this...

I bought a T-Mobile (UK) BB 8800 the day before yesterday with Web n Walk, and it all worked fine (email, web browsing, all good).

The default APN for the phone was

I needed TCP/IP access for my news reader, IM etc., so I changed the APN to with the user/mms as the username/password.

All of my TCP/IP applications worked perfectly.

What does not work now is the BB Browser. I *think* it is because it needs to go through the BES ? It kindof seems like that for the BB Browser to work, the APN must be

Has anyone heard of anything like this before?

Oh, and before you say "Use Opera", I need to have the BB Browser working so I can OTA install applications.

Oh and just a heads up, one of the apps that wouldn't work until I changed the APN was the BBMaps, which is pre-installed. After a few conversations with TMobile BB Support, it turns out they can't help with it because it is not supported by Tmobile, even though it was included on the phone. BBMaps would load up, but could not download any tiles. Changing the APN fixed it, but broke the browser.

takeshi no está en línea Stack level 7

Re: 8800 on T-Mobile UK

You shouldn't have the Blackberry Browser without being on a BES but you should have the Internet Browser which is sometimes named just Browser (as well as your carrier's WAP browser). There's no need to set anything to use the built-in browsers if you have a Blackberry data plan and it's properly provisioned. The TCP settings are only for third party apps.

ffmike no está en línea Device Pro

Hi and Welcome to the Stacks.

There are a couple of possibilities here. First, its possible that your BES admin has a policy requiring certain APN settings.