Results 1 to 8 of 8

I've heard that you can make free calls via a wi-fi connection using a Blackberry ... General Blackberry forum

  1. #1
    Mag1922's Avatar
    Mag1922 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    23

    What exactly is UMA calling?

    Advertisement



    I've heard that you can make free calls via a wi-fi connection using a Blackberry but i'd like to know more about it. I have UMA displayed on my screen when using wi-fi but can you only call PC's using that or mobiles etc? How does it all work? I've read through this forum but i can't find any info on it, let me know if i've missed it :-)

  2. #2
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    You should be able to make calls with the UMA connection to any phone number - just like your EDGE signal. The benefit being imporoved signals using a WiFi connection indoors.

    Other benefits may be carrier dependent. On TMO USA for example, we can pay $10 a month for unlimited UMA calls....
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  3. #3
    Mag1922's Avatar
    Mag1922 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    23
    I've never seen the word EDGE on my phone. I've had it now for 6 days and it's either GPRS or UMA :-(

  4. #4
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    Perhaps EDGE coverage is not in your country (hard to imagine since I am getting EDGE on my 8320 here in China)...does not change the answer - phone anyone you like on UMA - I know I get great, clear calls on mine!
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  5. #5
    SunnyD's Avatar
    SunnyD no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    79
    if you really want to take full advantage of the UMA feature on your 8320. You would need to get a VoIP router like the one tmobile sells. the only reason why i say that is because it is voice prioritized. regular wifi routers are not set up to handle that type of data stream so most of the time you will experience a lot of dropped calls while on UMA. The regular router from Tmo is technically free. its $30 with a $30 mail in rebate which to me is a damn good price considering its maid from Linksys lol. i Currently use the HiPort which is the new router that was released from Tmo for their @home service ( I work for them hehe). if you need anymore help answering questions feel free to PM me or just write back to this.

  6. #6
    Mag1922's Avatar
    Mag1922 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    23
    Thanks everyone. I'm in the UK which i'm sure has EDGE and i live in Birmingham so i'm sure this area has EDGE coverage. We've just had the 7.8Mpbs mobile broadband speed update from Vodafone here :-D

  7. #7
    Mr_Carter's Avatar
    Mr_Carter no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    1,388
    I'm in Colombia south America and I also have edge. However I know nothing about the uma calling. ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  8. #8
    jahf's Avatar
    jahf no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    22
    Are there any other UMA providers in the U.S. besides T-Mobile? I'm assuming not AT&T but I'll keep hoping until I hear confirmation of no.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •