Results 1 to 7 of 7

I'm a bit miffed... I've been using my old 8700 to access push email via ... General Blackberry forum

  1. #1
    FreeFall's Avatar
    FreeFall no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    PIN/ID
    25241476
    Posts
    5

    Thumbs down Vodafone UK - robbing gits?

    Advertisement



    I'm a bit miffed...

    I've been using my old 8700 to access push email via my company BES server for over a year now with Enterprise Mail, the 8700 was given to me by a friend. Recently it started to play up, so as I was due an upgrade on my phone I traded up to the 8310 - so far so good...

    It arrived today and after much cussing and swearing trying to get the Enterprise Activation to work I did some Googling and came across this forum, the post said to check that the device was enabled for Enterprise Email with the carrier. On calling them and waiting on hold while the guy checked with his engineers, got back to me, back to engineers etc. it transpires that they want to bump my subscription up from Ł15 to Ł35 per month to get this feature! Why? It works fine on my old device so I guess the PIN for that is activated on my current subscription - they wouldn't budge though...

    I understand that there is no way to change the PIN on the new device to that of the old but is there any other way around this (bar coughing up the extra 20 quid)?

    Robbing bar stewards.

    Nick

  2. #2
    jonnyxedge's Avatar
    jonnyxedge no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    28A4ED28
    Posts
    3,945
    well typically with all carriers it cost more money to have the BES enabled on your account. it provides for extra security, i;m not sure how you were able to subscribe to the company BES with your old device without the proper data services
    The BlackBerry Guru

    [x] My Minds Eye - Life Behind The Lens Of A BlackBerry
    [x] Pinstack Blog
    [x] Twitter

  3. #3
    ItsNowOrNever's Avatar
    ItsNowOrNever no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    30485184
    Posts
    2,994
    Maybe you just had the email and not data?

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  4. #4
    Virex's Avatar
    Virex no está en línea Banned for Content theft
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    PIN/ID
    CUSHION
    Posts
    723
    i didnt know they separated the 2

  5. #5
    FreeFall's Avatar
    FreeFall no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    PIN/ID
    25241476
    Posts
    5

    Question

    Quote Originally Posted by jonnyxedge View Post
    well typically with all carriers it cost more money to have the BES enabled on your account. it provides for extra security, i;m not sure how you were able to subscribe to the company BES with your old device without the proper data services
    Hi, thanks for your reply. The thing is, I'm now not convinced that this is the problem. The reason I say this is because if I swap back to my old device it works fine - do you know whether it is the SIM or the PIN that has the restriction imposed on it?

    If I remove my user from BES and then try to reactivate again using the new device, it lists my user again, with the new PIN but then the activation times out with something along the lines of 'server not responding - contact your administrator'. There is also an error on the BES server saying something like 'cannot delete sent something-or-other, not authorised' but this happens with my old device too (but then continues to work).


  6. #6
    Virex's Avatar
    Virex no está en línea Banned for Content theft
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    PIN/ID
    CUSHION
    Posts
    723
    its neither. its a network controlled feature.

  7. #7
    FreeFall's Avatar
    FreeFall no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    PIN/ID
    25241476
    Posts
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by Virex View Post
    its neither. its a network controlled feature.
    OK... so how does that work? Basically what I'm asking is - do you think that I should be able to activate the new device 'as is', considering that the old one works on my current plan? I'm trying to determine whether they have blocked this device from using BES or if I'm just doing something stupid. BTW, here is the error that shows on the BES server when I try to activate the new device (it also shows when I reactivate the old one but that completes successfully)

    04/05/2008 05:04:38 AM {User/Company} Unable to delete sent NID=5FFE6 for user User/Company (You are not authorized to perform that operation 0x0246)
    04/05/2008 05:04:39 AM Router: Transferring mail to Server/Company via Notes
    04/05/2008 05:04:39 AM Router: Transferred 1 messages to Server/Company via Notes
    04/05/2008 05:04:44 AM Router: Message 0031DCFB transferred to Server/Company for network@etp2001.etp.eu.blackberry.net via Notes


    Attempting to activate the new device does result in the ETP.DAT being sent to my Inbox. Would this happen if it weren't BES enabled?

    Sorry for all the dumb questions.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •