Results 1 to 11 of 11

Okay, so I downloaded VNC from here http://www.ethell.com/j2mevnc/ Am I missing something? What's the next ... General Blackberry forum

  1. #1
    boblincoln's Avatar
    boblincoln no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    PIN/ID
    3180B706
    Posts
    162

    Question VNC Question

    Advertisement



    Okay, so I downloaded VNC from here http://www.ethell.com/j2mevnc/

    Am I missing something? What's the next step to make this work?

    I appreciate the help.

  2. #2
    Lewis's Avatar
    Lewis no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    207BBC6D
    Posts
    1,285

    Re: VNC Question

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

    Are you on BES or BIS? If trying to access corporate computers on a BES, there needs to be MDS and that needs to be setup to allow VNC connections.

    Are you trying to VNC to a computer behind a firewall?

    Are you using IP address or machine name? (I have found machine names to be unstable at times, using a VPN.)

    I have tested that VNC viewer, and didn't like it as much as Idokorro Mobile Desktop (but it's not free either).

    Overall, after testing a few different VNC and non-VNC apps, I have somewhat given up on them. It's not quite what I expected, and I believe that VNC on a wireless handheld has a long way to go.

  3. #3
    Lewis's Avatar
    Lewis no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    207BBC6D
    Posts
    1,285

    Re: VNC Question

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

    Idokorro OTA is at:

    http://www.idokorro.com/

  4. #4
    hayden's Avatar
    hayden no está en línea Stack Mod
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    12,440

    Re: VNC Question

    Quote Originally Posted by Lewis
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

    Idokorro OTA is at:

    http://www.idokorro.com/
    This works great! A must have for the IT Admin. It's not free though.

  5. #5
    rokr's Avatar
    rokr no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    111

    Arrow Re: VNC Question

    Quote Originally Posted by hydn
    This works great! A must have for the IT Admin. It's not free though.
    really this works great...? i downloaded the trial and it took me forever to get it to work.. after i did it wasnt that great.. um .. can u be a lil more specific on how it worked for you ?
    Hello im a Mac...

  6. #6
    memnoch's Avatar
    memnoch no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    2042AD90
    Posts
    11

    Re: VNC Question

    it's excellent, basically it seams to be a web based admin console that can be accessed from either your blackberry or web borwser on the server specific port.

    The only issue is the rather large price tag associated with this software....

  7. #7
    rokr's Avatar
    rokr no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    111

    Re: VNC Question

    Quote Originally Posted by memnoch
    The only issue is the rather large price tag associated with this software....

    does anyone think its worth it?
    Hello im a Mac...

  8. #8
    rontek's Avatar
    rontek no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    2

    Re: VNC Question

    Can sombody tell me the complete button layout for VNC on a Blackberry 7250? Or maybe a brief tutorial on basic Blackberry VNC keyboard use. I am not too experienced with Blackberry keyboarding and what I have found for VNC is not very descriptive. (Which key is "Game A" Button?)

    Thanks,
    RON

  9. #9
    Lewis's Avatar
    Lewis no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    207BBC6D
    Posts
    1,285

    Re: VNC Question

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

    Documentation for that free vnc viewer is quite limited.

    I ended up giving up on vnc viewing on my 7130g. The speed, reliability, and level of expectation just isn't there.

    ...back to the desktop...

  10. #10
    rontek's Avatar
    rontek no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    2

    Re: VNC Question

    Have you found any that are "signifincantly" better? Pay or not ?

  11. #11
    Lewis's Avatar
    Lewis no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    207BBC6D
    Posts
    1,285

    Re: VNC Question

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

    N8 is quite satisfied with http://www.desktopmobiles.com

    I tried it, but because of the way it works, I couldn't use it on my company's network (IT policies.... ).

    And, it depends on your device and what you want to do and if you're beating through a firewall or a BES-MDS, or straight up TCP through your carrier.

    Either the remote desktop for mobiles or idokorro are great apps to test, and they are paid and have excellent support.

    But personally, I can't use them for various reasons, and considering that it's only a convenience factor for me, I have somewhat given up.

    Hope that helps.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •