Results 1 to 8 of 8

how can a software be loaded on net and downloaded through OTA on device , ... General Blackberry forum

  1. #1
    xaurav's Avatar
    xaurav no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    PIN/ID
    20374F8B
    Posts
    254

    Urgent:how can a software be loaded on ...

    Advertisement



    how can a software be loaded on net and downloaded through OTA on device , can some plez help
    let me explain i have a software size<120kbs , i want it to be loaded on net so 1 of my client could download it OTA to his blackberry, i have tried alot , kindly help

  2. #2
    Treo700's Avatar
    Treo700 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    222

    Re: Urgent:how can a software be loaded on ...

    Is it .jad or jar file? That's as good start. You could then post it to an ftp or public http for download.

  3. #3
    xaurav's Avatar
    xaurav no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    PIN/ID
    20374F8B
    Posts
    254

    Re: Urgent:how can a software be loaded on ...

    it has .jad and .cod files i have also .jar file but what to do???

  4. #4
    Rcbjr's Avatar
    Rcbjr no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    PM - Ask
    Posts
    14,848

    Re: Urgent:how can a software be loaded on ...

    xaurav, do you have a BB friendly website that you could upload the Jad/jar files to using FTP? You client could then go to that site with his BB and install it from there. Chris should be along shortly and he can probably help more.


    Rcbjr
    You Ask, We Will Answer
    Can’t Install theme via DM?No Additional Apps Found for Your Device
    Links to Usefull KB Articles

  5. #5
    cp6169's Avatar
    cp6169 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    PIN/ID
    3056468b
    Posts
    14,661

    Re: Urgent:how can a software be loaded on ...

    Hi xaurav, havent seen you in a couple weeks. Have you tried to load them to blackberry.co.nr? Not all hosts support .jad, .jar for ota, maybe yours doesnt.

  6. #6
    xaurav's Avatar
    xaurav no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    PIN/ID
    20374F8B
    Posts
    254

    Re: Urgent:how can a software be loaded on ...

    ya man , i am busy with few projects of engineering , this is my final year , but , i just wanted to know name of host providing such a facility, that could allow files to be downloaded OTA

  7. #7
    srl7741's Avatar
    srl7741 no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    Retired
    Posts
    6,359

    Re: Urgent:how can a software be loaded on ...

    xaurav in order to allow others to download over-the-air you will need to do this.

    Place all the .cod files onto the server. The .jad file is a package listing of all the files the OTA action will need to download-- so after you make .jad file set, do not change any filenames because they are all encoded in the .jad file. The number of .cod files depends on how many graphic elements your particular software has. Some of mine have 4 and some have 10 .cod files. You need them all, they are a set of files, with sequential numbers, that are broken up for downloading and reconstructed during OTA. They all need to be in the same folder on the server.

    The server needs to have some things enabled. I know that Apache servers are the preferred ones. You also need a file to tell the server how to handle requests. This is a .htaccess file. Note there is nothing preceeding the initial "dot" in the filename. The file needs to have this contents (build with a text-only editor like Notepad):

    AddType text/vnd.sun.j2me.app-descriptor jad
    AddType application/vnd.rim.cod cod
    AddType application/java-archive jar
    AddType audio/adpcm adp

    This file needs to be in every folder you create on the server with .jad and .cod files. Again, the file name is everything inside the quotes ".htaccess".


    Hope this helps? Let me know if you need additional tips?

    Note: If you can't get things to work i could post your software on my site and allow for the ota downloads if you wish. I have several things posted for ota downloading and adding one more would be easy.

  8. #8
    xaurav's Avatar
    xaurav no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    PIN/ID
    20374F8B
    Posts
    254

    Re: Urgent:how can a software be loaded on ...

    thx for the help sir , thats worths alot

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •