Results 1 to 9 of 9

Happy new year to you all!!! In the next couple of days i will be ... General Blackberry forum

  1. #1
    nnr81's Avatar
    nnr81 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    217D58B0
    Posts
    71

    Upgrading from a BB Pearl to BB Curve

    Advertisement



    Happy new year to you all!!!

    In the next couple of days i will be in receipt of my new blackberry (8320)... probably, unless i decide to change in the last minute to the 8120....either way.

    Once i am in receipt of my new phone , how do i carry out the smooth changeover process from my old to new BB, taking into account that i have done regular syncing/backups.

    Regards....

  2. #2
    Eddie_gauge's Avatar
    Eddie_gauge no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    2,970

    Re: Upgrading from a BB Pearl to BB Curve

    Should be pretty simple. Just do a back up with your old phone and a restore with the new. If you have internet and email after the restore go to menu, options, advanced options, host routing table, menu, register now followed by a battery pull to get the service books back on the phone. Hope it helps. Congrats on the new phone.

  3. #3
    cliffr39's Avatar
    cliffr39 no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    317ASKME
    Posts
    3,064

    Re: Upgrading from a BB Pearl to BB Curve

    in addition to the above you can also try the "switch device" feature of Desktop Manager. It works most of the time but may leave a thing or two out. But I would do a backup just before doing this to cover yourself
    ~A BlackBerry without a data plan is just a berry without the crack.~
    Links to common questions.

  4. #4
    nnr81's Avatar
    nnr81 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    217D58B0
    Posts
    71

    Re: Upgrading from a BB Pearl to BB Curve

    a thing or two? like what?

  5. #5
    Eddie_gauge's Avatar
    Eddie_gauge no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    2,970

    Re: Upgrading from a BB Pearl to BB Curve

    Quote Originally Posted by nnr81 View Post
    a thing or two? like what?
    Settings mostly. Most settings will not pass over between models anyways. either way you go will work it just depends which is easier for you. Back up and restore will not restore settings that are not compatible just like the switch device wizard.

  6. #6
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432

    Re: Upgrading from a BB Pearl to BB Curve

    nnr81

    You may also need to go to your providers BIS set up page and enter the PIN and IMEI of your new device.
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  7. #7
    cliffr39's Avatar
    cliffr39 no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    317ASKME
    Posts
    3,064

    Re: Upgrading from a BB Pearl to BB Curve

    Quote Originally Posted by nnr81 View Post
    a thing or two? like what?
    I've done it a few times when I replaced with the same model and everything went well but when I went from 8100 to 8300 it didn't transfer over a few 3rd party apps (but just re-downloaded them).
    ~A BlackBerry without a data plan is just a berry without the crack.~
    Links to common questions.

  8. #8
    nnr81's Avatar
    nnr81 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    217D58B0
    Posts
    71

    Re: Upgrading from a BB Pearl to BB Curve

    So whats the recommendation for a first timer?

    and would it make any difference if i were upgrading to the 8120

  9. #9
    Eddie_gauge's Avatar
    Eddie_gauge no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    2,970

    Re: Upgrading from a BB Pearl to BB Curve

    Quote Originally Posted by nnr81 View Post
    So whats the recommendation for a first timer?

    and would it make any difference if i were upgrading to the 8120
    More or less no it would not make a difference if you where to upgrade to an 8120. I prefer back up and restore but switch device wizard is just as easy. Either way you go is OK.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •