Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17

So I went to Chicago via Amtrak weekend and my curve was my traveling partner ... General Blackberry forum

  1. #1
    tiascurve66's Avatar
    tiascurve66 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    4U2ASKME
    Posts
    605

    Traveling with my curve

    Advertisement



    So I went to Chicago via Amtrak weekend and my curve was my traveling partner . Anyways everyone around me with different kinds of phones notice when we finally got out of Michigan and into Indiana their time changed on their phones. However my curve never changed times when we changed zones.

    When I had my pocketpc it changed times whenever I left Michigan is this because the pocketpc was 3g and my curve isn't? I am on At&T I am sure that isn't the issue but I am just curious to know why it didn't change during the trip.

    Also Chicago rocks I seen more Pearls and Curves than anything while walking downtown.

  2. #2
    krikor222's Avatar
    krikor222 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    3022BBE5
    Posts
    205
    Double check Options > Date/Time to see if the Date/Time Source is not set to Blackberry, If you would like automatic time adjustment I believe that option must be set to Network, so that the network may automatically update your time based on the towers your on!
    Shawn K.

    Device: BlackBerry Curve 8330 v4.5.0.56
    Carrier: Bell Mobility (Canada)
    PIN: 3022BBE5

  3. #3
    tiascurve66's Avatar
    tiascurve66 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    4U2ASKME
    Posts
    605
    Thanks krikor222 I wish I would have asked this before I left for my trip. I kept feeling like i was ahead of everyone else.

  4. #4
    krikor222's Avatar
    krikor222 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    3022BBE5
    Posts
    205
    With a blackberry, you usually are!!! :P
    Shawn K.

    Device: BlackBerry Curve 8330 v4.5.0.56
    Carrier: Bell Mobility (Canada)
    PIN: 3022BBE5

  5. #5
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    I don't believe the time zone changes automatically on RIM devices, regardless of the source from which you receive the time.

    You would actually have to go in and do that manually when you change time zones, unfortunately.

  6. #6
    krikor222's Avatar
    krikor222 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    3022BBE5
    Posts
    205
    I wish there was a way to confirm that notion RoGro,
    simply because it wouldn't make sense for basic handsets on any network to be able to synchronize the date/time with nearby towers, and Blackberry devices not being able to.
    Shawn K.

    Device: BlackBerry Curve 8330 v4.5.0.56
    Carrier: Bell Mobility (Canada)
    PIN: 3022BBE5

  7. #7
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Hi Shawn,

    I'm hoping that this will be resolved in later OS releases, but as of right now, it is sad, but true. Here is one of many threads discussing the topic:

    http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com...time_zone.html

    Regards,
    Roger

  8. #8
    krikor222's Avatar
    krikor222 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    3022BBE5
    Posts
    205
    Perfect, thanks a lot Roger!

    Very unfortunate though, but Im sure they have their technical reasons lol
    Shawn K.

    Device: BlackBerry Curve 8330 v4.5.0.56
    Carrier: Bell Mobility (Canada)
    PIN: 3022BBE5

  9. #9
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Yes, as one poster stated, you would think a device with so many other cool features would also be able to do something as basic as adjusting its timezone automatically!

  10. #10
    krikor222's Avatar
    krikor222 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    3022BBE5
    Posts
    205
    My exact point in my post above, they really should get on this!
    Shawn K.

    Device: BlackBerry Curve 8330 v4.5.0.56
    Carrier: Bell Mobility (Canada)
    PIN: 3022BBE5

  11. #11
    tiascurve66's Avatar
    tiascurve66 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    4U2ASKME
    Posts
    605
    Yes it is sad because in the same breath the people around me were checking out my curve when the time didn't change they kind of though something was wrong with my phone. Oh well I still have a bb and they don't.

  12. #12
    rashard's Avatar
    rashard no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    PIN/ID
    208FBA40
    Posts
    1,201
    Maybe it would have something to do with all the sync capabilities of the device, with work and email and all that, if you happen to walk over the timezone line, then go back and so on, it would sit there and be confused as heck, you would get repeated messages and so on perhaps? especially if you delete on handheld and not both, and so on.
    It takes many professionals versed in many different area's to help the masses, I am just a single drop in that pool.

    BXXXX[:::::::::::::::::::::::::::>


  13. #13
    reddog187's Avatar
    reddog187 no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    STACK
    Posts
    8,907
    Quote Originally Posted by rashard View Post
    Maybe it would have something to do with all the sync capabilities of the device, with work and email and all that, if you happen to walk over the timezone line, then go back and so on, it would sit there and be confused as heck, you would get repeated messages and so on perhaps? especially if you delete on handheld and not both, and so on.
    Rashard is correct, if BBs automatically changed times, it would have to adjust every appointment on it's calendar. Then syncing the device would cause havoc to Outlook. You would have to imagine many business users have A LOT of appointments. So this is just not a good idea. Especially when they travel so much through so many time zones and such.

  14. #14
    krikor222's Avatar
    krikor222 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    3022BBE5
    Posts
    205
    Makes sense, but programming wise, how hard can it be to change all times accordingly on the device to accommodate for the time change? or if that doesn't make sense for most business, why not have the option to just change the main time display?

    Very confusing stuff, but I'm sure someone can figure it out lol
    Shawn K.

    Device: BlackBerry Curve 8330 v4.5.0.56
    Carrier: Bell Mobility (Canada)
    PIN: 3022BBE5

  15. #15
    reddog187's Avatar
    reddog187 no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    STACK
    Posts
    8,907
    Well, you will have to ask RIM for the answer. I'm pretty sure it has to do with BES servers and snycing between them and the devices themselves. I don't think it's as easy as everyone thinks it is, or else this would be an option.

    Yes, we have a device that can do about almost anything but it can't do this, but I'm sure they a good reason not to allow this.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •