Results 1 to 8 of 8

Hi, I have a 7130e and I bought a 7250 for the full keyboard. My ... General Blackberry forum

  1. #1
    MT's Avatar
    MT
    MT no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    155

    Transfer to a new device

    Advertisement



    Hi, I have a 7130e and I bought a 7250 for the full keyboard. My question is can i do a straight backup and restore to the new device?

    I need all my call logs, contacts and emails... these are the must haves. I can get the apps again... What is the process for switching to another device?

    Thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Natasha's Avatar
    Natasha no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    ASK NICE
    Posts
    4,461

    Re: Transfer to a new device

    Congrats on your new BB...

    Do you have desktop manager?

    There is a swap device function that should help you with this....

    Hope this helps
    Last edited by Natasha; 09-16-2007 at 06:26 PM.

  3. #3
    KalebsDad78's Avatar
    KalebsDad78 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    PIN/ID
    Just Ask
    Posts
    2,044

    Re: Transfer to a new device

    Yup, you can just do a backup on the 7130 and do a restore on the 7250. I did that with my 7130e to my 8703e and had no problems and everything was exactly the same on my new device.
    New User? - Read the NEW USERS GUIDE

  4. #4
    xtasyboi_00's Avatar
    xtasyboi_00 no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    PM
    Posts
    1,325

    Re: Transfer to a new device

    Yes, dekstop manager should be able to help you with that.

    I believe its Transfer new Device.

    It would back up everything for you and have everything from the old phone to the new one..

  5. #5
    N8DBB's Avatar
    N8DBB no está en línea Stack level 8
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    PIN/ID
    7BCE3C88
    Posts
    6,028

    Re: Transfer to a new device

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    Everyone above is right. Switch Device Wizard.

    But I am pretty sure its a 4.2 DM option only, so go download that. Or I could be wrong. I have been drinking and watching football all day.

  6. #6
    MT's Avatar
    MT
    MT no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    155

    Re: Transfer to a new device

    Thanks everybody! I will give it a shot.

  7. #7
    MT's Avatar
    MT
    MT no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    155

    Re: Transfer to a new device

    Quote Originally Posted by KalebsDad78
    Yup, you can just do a backup on the 7130 and do a restore on the 7250. I did that with my 7130e to my 8703e and had no problems and everything was exactly the same on my new device.
    Can you do this with 4.1? I have a slow conection and hate to try to download 4.2 since it looks like its over 300 mb's?????????

  8. #8
    KalebsDad78's Avatar
    KalebsDad78 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    PIN/ID
    Just Ask
    Posts
    2,044

    Re: Transfer to a new device

    Yes, the 7130 has the 4.1 software. I'm not familiar with the 7250 so I'm not sure what OS that is running but if they are the same OS, there should be zero problems with doing a backup/restore and changing devices.
    New User? - Read the NEW USERS GUIDE

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •