Results 1 to 8 of 8

OK I went searching to confirm or deny what the Sprint Blackberry rep told me ... General Blackberry forum

  1. #1
    dabagboy's Avatar
    dabagboy no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    PIN/ID
    3191c943
    Posts
    28

    too large a memory card?

    Advertisement



    OK I went searching to confirm or deny what the Sprint Blackberry rep told me yesterday -- essentially that the 8130 only supports up to a 2GB card? a larger card will work for awhile but will eventually "cause problems"....

    and that I had probably "ruined" my phone with a 4 GB (SanDisk) card....

    After reading threads/posts here I ignored the manufacturers advise that the 8130 only supported a 2gb card and installed a 4gb card about 8 wks ago. All went very well for about 4 weeks or so....then about a month ago my phone started to lock up....only fix was a battery pull/reboot....the frequency of this lockup went from 1x/wk to 3x/wk to 3x/day

    Finally I called Sprint BB support and backed up and wiped my phone.

    It was during this call that the phone didn't even want to restart at all. It just locked up while booting.....the rep told me the likely culprit was the 4gb card, and that while large cards "work" eventually (after 2-8 weeks) they have seen larger cards "fry" the phone and that it will be junk.

    I was and remain in total disbelief.....but the phone is still locking up and there is no card in the phone at all?

    Any else seen this issue?

    How long have some of you been using "larger cards"?
    Last edited by doughdaddy; 06-04-2008 at 11:07 AM.

  2. #2
    azstar's Avatar
    azstar no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    12,882
    I've been using my 4 gig card in my 8130 for about 2 months.....I also put one in my mom's 8130 about a week before mine.....neither one are having problems.

    Here is a link to RIM's site saying that BB's with 4.3 which the 8130 has....support up to 8gig:

    http://www.blackberry.com/btsc/searc...00%20140120840
    Twitter? My Apps List

    Current SmartPhone: Motorola DROID Rooted, Running Project Elite v4

  3. #3
    cornelious0_0's Avatar
    cornelious0_0 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    235B134C
    Posts
    673
    As I said in your other thread, I'd be more likely to believe that the card or bb involved in the issue were in some way defective or picky, as the are many stackers with 8gb cards for more then a few weeks without any issues. Only other possibility I can think of would be a vendor or carrier specific issue but I doubt it. if it were me I'd try a different brand of micro sd card and forget what the rep was saying, half the time they're not right about anything I ask em anyways. ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  4. #4
    dabagboy's Avatar
    dabagboy no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    PIN/ID
    3191c943
    Posts
    28
    FWIW, I called Sprint again today...different rep of course...different answer as well...he agreed with the prior two posters (that the 4gb card should be no problem) and we deleted all the third party apps from my phone....arghhhh

  5. #5
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    Dont forget that RIM is the manufacurer, and according to them, your device with its current Operating System supports UP TO 8gb.

    On a side note, the sd card size is driven by the OS, not the device....
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  6. #6
    EricaJ1073's Avatar
    EricaJ1073 no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    10,420
    Quote Originally Posted by dabagboy View Post
    FWIW, I called Sprint again today...different rep of course...different answer as well...he agreed with the prior two posters (that the 4gb card should be no problem) and we deleted all the third party apps from my phone....arghhhh

    Some reps just don't know what they are talking about or unwilling to go check for the information.


  7. #7
    cornelious0_0's Avatar
    cornelious0_0 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    235B134C
    Posts
    673
    That about sums it up...such a shame.

    Quote Originally Posted by EricaJ1073 View Post
    Some reps just don't know what they are talking about or unwilling to go check for the information.

  8. #8
    jd885's Avatar
    jd885 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    149
    Its sad but true, you could probably call back 100 times and get 100 different reps with 100 different answers... been there done that but like GaryF said RIM says it supports up to 8GB card so Sprint is retarded

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •